Daniel Svard leads Northwestern to a Big Ten championship
28 Apr 2024
by Justin Golba of AmateurGolf.com

see also: View results for Big Ten Championship, Scioto Country Club, Daniel Svard Rankings

Northwestern men's golf team (Northwestern Athletics Photo)
Northwestern men's golf team (Northwestern Athletics Photo)

Illinois' streak of eight straight Big Ten championships is over at the hands of Northwestern.

The Wildcats won the 2024 Big Ten Championship at Scioto Country Club in Columbus, OH., shooting 23-over and winning by 15 shots over the Fighting Illini, who finished in solo second place at 38-over.

Northwestern shot team rounds of 280-294-289 to get to 23-over and run away with the double-digit shot win. Daniel Svard led the Wildcats, winning the individual competition at 1-over by one shot. James Imai was also key to the Wildcats' success, finishing T3. Ethan Tseng finished T8, and Cameron Adam finished in solo tenth place. Niall Shiels-Donegan finished T19. 

Purdue finished in solo third place at 46-over, Michigan State finished in solo fourth place at 49-over, and Ohio State finished in solo fifth place at 50-over. Indiana finished in solo sixth place at 62-over, and Nebraska, Rutgers, and Wisconsin finished T7 at 64-over. 

Northwestern won its first Big Ten Championship since 2006 and its ninth all-time. Svard won the individual title, marking the 16th Wildcat to do so, which is the fourth-most by a school in Big Ten history. The Wildcats will make their fourth straight appearance in the NCAA Men's Golf Championship and their 29th appearance all-time. 

In the individual competition, Svard won by one shot over Jackson Buchanan of Illinois. Svard finished 1-over with rounds of 68-75-68, while Buchanan finished 2-over with rounds of 71-71-70.

Svard is currently ranked No. 115 in the Golfweek/AmateurGolf.com World Rankings.

Imai of Northwestern and Ashton McCulloch of Michigan State finished T3 at 5-over. McCulloch was the 36-hole leader, but a final-round 5-over 75 saw him fall to T3.

Herman Sekne of Purdue, Neal Shipley of Ohio State, and August Meekhof of Purdue finished T5 at 6-over.

Big Ten individual champions include Jack Nicklaus (1961), John Cook (1978, 1979), Joey Sindelar (1981), Steve Stricker (1986, 1988, 1989), Shaun Micheel (1991), Luke Donald (2000, 2001), Jeff Overton (2005) and Thomas Pieters (2013).

Results: Big Ten Championship
1SwedenDaniel SvardSweden70068-75-68=211
2GAJackson BuchananDacula, GA50071-71-70=212
T3MAJames ImaiBrookline, MA40068-74-73=215
T3CanadaAshton McCullochCanada40071-69-75=215
T5NorwayHerman SekneNorway40073-72-72=217

View full results for Big Ten Championship

ABOUT THE Big Ten Championship

54 hole men's collegiate championship of the Big Ten Conference. Team (best four scores out of five players each round) and individual competitions.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92009

Instagram X Facebook YouTube