LIVE
Mammoth Dunes at Sand Valley. Draft photo selection; rights review pending.

Home › News

Your Next Great Golf Trip: 10 Amateur Tournaments to Put on the Calendar Now

Pinehurst, Sand Valley, Torrey Pines and seven more reasons to stop talking about the next golf trip. Registration checked October 10, 2026; eligibility and availability caveats are called out below.

Mammoth Dunes at Sand Valley. Draft photo selection; rights review pending.

NATIONAL EDITION · OCTOBER 10, 2026 · UNPUBLISHED DRAFT

Mammoth Dunes at Sand Valley Resort
Mammoth Dunes at Sand Valley Resort. Source: AmateurGolf.com · Photo rights/photographer credit pending.

The best golf trip starts with a date on the calendar.

Pick a partner, pick a destination, and give the next round something to mean. We searched AmateurGolf.com’s tournament records, then checked organizer pages for entries that combine memorable courses with a practical route into the field. There are net competitions, team getaways and a few tougher tests for low-index players.

National search, specific eligibility: the AGC Tour welcomes amateurs nationwide; Arizona requires association membership, and the Carolinas and Florida picks have residency restrictions. AGC-run events use a membership-bundle registration policy: review any membership charge or requirement in checkout before paying. Listed entry prices exclude unverified additional charges.

01 / REGISTRATION OPEN · NATIONWIDE

Four courses. One partner. A Wisconsin trip worth planning around.

Mammoth Dunes at Sand Valley Resort
Mammoth Dunes at Sand Valley Resort. Source: AmateurGolf.com · Photo rights/photographer credit pending.

AmateurGolf.com 2027 Two Man Links and Father & Son at Sand Valley
May 14–17, 2027
Nekoosa, Wisconsin
From $3,195 per player, double occupancy

Mammoth Dunes, The Commons, The Lido and Sand Valley turn this 66-hole best-ball championship into a proper destination trip. Three nights of lodging and a banquet are included. Bring a partner for the Open Team competition or enter Father & Son; both offer gross and net prizes.

Who can play: Net scoring uses 80% of course handicap, capped at 18 per player, using the lowest GHIN index from the past year. Suggested combined maximum: 36. Seniors bonus: both players 50+.

Why act now: A $1,000 deposit per player reserves an entry; the balance is due January 16, 2027. Published field limit: 40 teams. Remaining team count is not verified.

Details to confirm before entry

The event record schedules arrival May 14 and competition May 15–17; the marketing page schedules play May 14–16. Confirm the daily itinerary before booking travel. The Lido requires a caddie at extra cost.

Register your Sand Valley team →

Official event/source details

02 / REGISTRATION OFFERED · DETAILS NEED CONFIRMATION

Put Pinehurst No. 4 on your scorecard—with a Malbon twist.

Pinehurst No. 4 course photograph from AmateurGolf.com’s venue library
Pinehurst No. 4 course photograph from AmateurGolf.com’s venue library. Source: AmateurGolf.com · Photo rights/photographer credit pending.

Malbon Buckets Cup - Pinehurst
November 17–18, 2026 — date conflict flagged
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Price requires confirmation

The Malbon Buckets Cup - Pinehurst puts an individual stroke-play competition at Pinehurst No. 4 at the center of a golf-and-hospitality getaway. This is the required Pinehurst pick—but check the details with the organizer before committing.

Who can play: Malbon’s amateur registration asks for a handicap of 15 or better and a GHIN number. Its page requires Buckets Club membership. AmateurGolf.com advertises a waiver of that membership requirement for paid AGC members; the redemption route needs confirmation.

Why act now: The official store reports an available amateur product; actual player inventory and the deadline are not disclosed. This is not a verified seat reservation.

Check Malbon packages and eligibility →

Official event/source details

03 / REGISTRATION OPEN · NATIONWIDE

Turn the Torrey Pines trip into a team championship.

Torrey Pines South overlooking the Pacific
Torrey Pines South overlooking the Pacific. Source: AmateurGolf.com · Photo rights/photographer credit pending.

AmateurGolf.com 2026 Two Man Links and Father & Son at Torrey Pines
December 15–18, 2026
La Jolla and Coronado, California
$1,875 commuter; $2,950 double occupancy per player

North, South, then Coronado: three rounds of best-ball give you a reason to bring your favorite golf companion to San Diego. Any two-person team is welcome, including friends, spouses and family. The commuter option makes lodging optional.

Who can play: Open and family divisions; senior bonus for teams with both players 55+. Net: 80% of course handicap, maximum 18 per player, using the lowest GHIN index from the past year; requested combined maximum 36.

Why act now: The live registration configuration closes October 31 at 8:06 a.m. Pacific. No reliable remaining-team count is supplied.

Details to confirm before entry

The older date-only field says September 18; the live registration window and derived open status take precedence. Lodging descriptions differ between pages—confirm the assigned hotel. The stated refund window has already expired.

Choose your Torrey Pines package →

Official event/source details

04 / REGISTRATION OPEN · NET DIVISION AVAILABLE

Give yourself two competitive rounds in Monterey.

Del Monte Golf Course in Monterey
Del Monte Golf Course in Monterey. Source: AmateurGolf.com · Photo rights/photographer credit pending.

AmateurGolf.com 2026 Christmas Classic in Monterey
December 12–13, 2026
Del Monte Golf Course · Monterey, California
$375 per player

No partner required. This 36-hole event adds a tournament to a Monterey weekend, with a net division that gives more golfers a way into the competition. Net scoring uses 90% of the low index and a maximum net-double-bogey rule.

Who can play: Net division is open to men and women; its age/index limits are not specified in the returned configuration. Championship: age 15+, index below 4.5. Senior: age 50+, index below 8.0. Mid-Am, Super Senior and Women’s subdivisions also appear.

Why act now: The live cutoff is November 29 at 4 p.m. Pacific, although the date-only field displays November 30. Register early; remaining spots are not reliably published.

Details to confirm before entry

Confirm the net division’s precise entry limits and the conflicting closing-date display with the tournament team.

View details and register →

Official event/source details

05 / REGISTRATION OPEN · NET DIVISION AVAILABLE

An ocean-side finish without the resort-package price.

Pacific Grove Golf Links on the Monterey Peninsula
Pacific Grove Golf Links on the Monterey Peninsula. Source: AmateurGolf.com · Photo rights/photographer credit pending.

AmateurGolf.com 2027 Pacific Grove Championship
February 20–21, 2027
Pacific Grove Golf Links · Pacific Grove, California
$325 per player

Pacific Grove’s parkland opening gives way to a coastal finish. The 36-hole championship is one of the lower-priced ways onto this list, with a clearly defined net division alongside the gross competitions.

Who can play: Net: age 15+, index 4.5–18.0. Championship: age 15+, index below 4.5. Senior Championship: age 50+, index below 8.0. Additional Mid-Am, Super Senior and Women’s prizes are listed.

Why act now: The live cutoff is January 17, 2027, at 4 p.m. Pacific; the date-only field displays January 18. Registration is open; an exact remaining-space count is unverified.

Details to confirm before entry

Use the earlier live cutoff when planning. Confirm the closing-date discrepancy before publishing a deadline.

View details and register →

Official event/source details

06 / OFFICIAL ENTRY WINDOW OPEN · NC/SC RESIDENTS

Let your handicap travel with you to the Sandhills.

Longleaf golf course in Southern Pines
Longleaf golf course in Southern Pines. Source: AmateurGolf.com · Photo rights/photographer credit pending.

Carolinas Net Amateur Championship
November 9–10, 2026
Longleaf Golf & Family Club · Southern Pines, North Carolina
$205 per player

The 16th Carolinas Net Amateur Championship gives golfers a 36-hole competition using 100% of course handicap. Six divisions cover men, women, seniors and super seniors. It is a strong regional option for eligible Carolinas residents.

Who can play: Male and female amateurs age 18+ who maintain a North or South Carolina residence. CGA membership and handicap requirements must be checked in the current Terms of Competition before entry.

Why act now: The organizer’s open entry window runs September 28–November 2, ending at 11:59 p.m. as posted. The portal offers Register Now; remaining places are not disclosed.

Details to confirm before entry

AGC marks its dates estimated, but the current organizer portal confirms November 9–10. Fee and entry window come from the 2026 portal.

Review Carolinas entry requirements →

Official event/source details

07 / OFFICIAL ENTRY WINDOW OPEN · AZ GOLF MEMBERS

Share one ball—and every decision—at Talking Stick.

Talking Stick Golf Club in Scottsdale
Talking Stick Golf Club in Scottsdale. Source: AmateurGolf.com · Photo rights/photographer credit pending.

Arizona Foursomes Championship
November 14–15, 2026
Talking Stick Golf Club, O’Odham · Scottsdale, Arizona
$500 per team

Alternate shot makes every swing a team decision. The 2026 Arizona Foursomes offers 36 holes at Talking Stick’s O’Odham course, with three divisions. This is an appealing partner trip for golfers who meet the competitive handicap limits.

Who can play: Male amateurs with active AZ GOLF membership. Maximum index: Open 5.4; Senior, ages 55–64, 8.4; Legend, age 65+, 10.4.

Why act now: Official registration runs August 14–November 7; the event page gives a 4 p.m. closing time. Field limit: 120 players. Actual remaining inventory is unverified.

Details to confirm before entry

The organizer confirms dates and alternate-shot format, correcting AGC’s estimated-date and generic stroke-play fields.

Check Arizona Foursomes entry →

Official event/source details

08 / OFFICIAL ENTRY WINDOW OPEN · FLORIDA RESIDENTS

Make your partner your best club in the bag.

Stillwater Golf and Country Club in St. Johns
Stillwater Golf and Country Club in St. Johns. Source: AmateurGolf.com · Photo rights/photographer credit pending.

Florida Foursomes Championship
December 4–5, 2026
Stillwater Golf & Country Club · St. Johns, Florida
$380 listed entry fee — confirm team basis

Two players, one ball, 36 holes: the Foursomes Championship rewards teamwork at Stillwater. Championship, Senior and Super-Senior divisions compete in gross alternate shot, with the field flighted after round one.

Who can play: The detailed rules require male amateur Florida residents, FSGA membership and an active Florida GHIN index of 10.0 or less. Senior teams: both 55+; Super-Senior: both 65+.

Why act now: The official page offers Enter and closes November 25 at 11:30 p.m. as posted. Maximum field: 66 teams. Remaining spots are not disclosed.

Details to confirm before entry

The page’s minimum-age summary conflicts with its detailed 18+ rule. Its daily schedule also contains a December 13 typo; the heading and 2026 calendar agree on December 4–5. Confirm age eligibility and whether $380 is per team.

Review Florida Foursomes entry →

Official event/source details

09 / REGISTRATION OPEN · INDIVIDUAL STROKE PLAY

Take on Torrey Pines with your own ball.

Torrey Pines North course
Torrey Pines North course. Source: AmateurGolf.com · Photo rights/photographer credit pending.

AmateurGolf.com San Diego Amateur (South)
December 16–17, 2026
Torrey Pines North and South · La Jolla, California
$895 per player

Prefer individual competition? The AmateurGolf.com San Diego Amateur (South) offers 36 holes rotating between Torrey Pines North and South. Despite the name, this is a two-course event—an alternative to the overlapping team championship.

Who can play: Men, Women, Senior and Super Senior divisions are listed. Exact age and handicap thresholds were not supplied in the registration configuration; confirm your division before entering.

Why act now: Registration closes December 2 at 11:59 p.m. Pacific. The configured field is limited to 36; exact remaining spaces are not published.

Details to confirm before entry

This overlaps the Two Man Links at Torrey Pines. Choose one; do not plan to play both.

View details and register →

Official event/source details

10 / PARTNER EVENT · APPLICATIONS OPEN · SELECTIVE FIELD

Start the year with a shot at a Korn Ferry Tour start.

St. Petersburg Country Club, host of the New Year’s Invitational
St. Petersburg Country Club. Source: AmateurGolf.com · Photo rights/photographer credit pending.

The 101st New Year's Invitational
January 7–9, 2027
St. Petersburg Country Club · St. Petersburg, Florida
$475 per player, plus state and local sales taxes

Here is the list’s ambitious partner-event pick: 54 holes of individual medal play at a championship with roots stretching back to 1927. The entry fee includes a practice round, tournament rounds, and food and beverage during the event.

The winner’s reward: the current 2027 tournament portal explicitly confirms that the champion earns a spot in the Korn Ferry Tour’s LECOM Suncoast Classic. That is an exemption into one professional event—not Korn Ferry Tour membership. See the organizer’s 2027 confirmation.

Who can play: Championship entrants must have a USGA Handicap Index of 2.0 or better. The field comprises 96 accepted, paid entries. Selection considers WAGR ranking, playing record, application timing and prompt payment. Mid-amateurs age 25+ also compete for an age-group award.

Why act now: the organizer says the application process is open. Earlier application is a stated selection factor; applying does not guarantee acceptance. Accepted players are instructed to pay within 48 hours of notification. No application deadline or remaining-space count was verified.

Details to confirm before entry

AGC’s record says “Registration closed,” and an older organizer entry-form page also says closed. The current 101st-edition Golf Genius portal, linked from the organizer’s 2027 homepage, explicitly says applications are open and confirms the 2027 LECOM start. Use that current portal. The portal’s award paragraph says Sunday, although the confirmed January 7–9 event ends Saturday; verify the awards schedule. This selective individual event is not a two-person team competition.

Apply for the New Year's Invitational →

Current official event and eligibility details · Tournament website

Make the group text useful: send one event, one budget and one proposed partner. Then check the division rules, total price and cancellation terms together before entering.

Method: research snapshot October 10, 2026 (America/Phoenix), using the AmateurGolf.com admin MCP and official organizer pages. In-system registration states and timestamp windows take precedence over stale directory badges. For the New Year’s Invitational, the current organizer’s 2027 entry portal supersedes AGC’s closed directory badge. Open entry windows do not guarantee acceptance. No remaining-space totals were inferred from capacity minus registrations. Recheck every entry before publication. Editorial selection, not a ranking of tournament strength; five selections are operated by AmateurGolf.com; the New Year’s Invitational is a partner-event selection.