NCAA Men's Regionals: 30 teams and six individuals are heading to La Costa
Texas won the Austin regional (Texas Athletics Photo)
Texas won the Austin regional (Texas Athletics Photo)

The NCAA Division I Men's Regionals are completed, and 30 teams and six individuals have punched their tickets to Omni La Costa Resort in Carlsbad, Calif., for the NCAA Division I Men's Golf Championships from May 24 to May 29.

Six 54-hole regional tournaments were conducted to determine the 30 qualifying teams and six individuals (not on those qualifying teams) who will compete in the finals.

Thirteen teams and ten individuals (not on those teams) competed at each of the three regionals, while the other three regionals had 14 teams and five individuals (not on those teams).

Final day three results

Texas regional site
The University of Texas Golf Club, Austin, Tex. 

Texas dominated the Austin regional, winning by 16 shots over Tennessee and placing four golfers in the top seven, led by individual medalist Christiaan Maas. Maas finished 9-under and one shot better than teammate Nathan Petronzio, who finished in solo second place at 8-under. Brian Stark and Tommy Morrison of Texas finished T3 and solo seventh place to help the Longhorns pull away.

Notre Dame, Utah, and Wake Forest earned the final qualifying spots. Wake Forest defeated BYU in a playoff by one shot. Kelvin Hernandez of UNCG earned the individual qualifying spot at 6-under and T3. 

Five advancing teams: 1. Texas -27, 2. Tennessee -11; 3. Notre Dame -6; 4. Utah -2; 5. Wake Forest +2

Outside the cutline: 6. BYU +2

Individual medalist: Christiaan Maas, Texas (-9)

Advancing individual: Kelvin Hernandez, UNCG (-6)

North Carolina regional site
UNC Finley Golf Course, Chapel Hill, N.C.

In what was a finish for the record books, Austin Greaser of North Carolina sank a long birdie putt on No. 18 to win the individual competition by one shot at 13-under. Nick Mathews of NC State and Johnny Keefer of Baylor finished T2 at 12-under. Clemson saw three golfers finish in the top 14 to win the team competition by a narrow one-shot margin over Clemson and five shots over No. 1 seed North Carolina. Mathews earned the individual qualifying spot. 

Five advancing teams: 1. Clemson -25; 2. East Tennessee State -24; 3. North Carolina -20; 4. Georgia Tech -17; 5. Baylor -15. 

Outside the cutline: 6. Alabama -14; 7. Long Beach State -13; 8. VCU -9

Individual medalist: Austin Greaser, North Carolina (-13)

Advancing individual: Nick Mathews, NC State (-12)

LSU regional site
University Club, Baton Rouge, La.

Auburn put together a red hot final round of 20-under 268 to pass Virginia and win the Baton Rouge regional. For the Tigers, Brendan Valdes shot a final round 6-under 66, Josiah Gilbert shot a final round 5-under 67 and freshman sensation Jackson Koivun, who won the SEC individual competition, shot a final round 4-under 68 to propel the Tigers through the last 18 holes. Baard Skogan shot a 6-under 66 in the final round to get to 8-under and win the individual medalist honors by two shots over Valdes and Ethan Evans of Duke, who earned the individual qualifying spot.

Five advancing teams: 1. Auburn -21; 2. Virginia -13; 3. Texas Tech -9; 4. Ohio State E; 5. LSU +4

Outside the cutline: 6. Houston +6; 7. Duke +9; 8. South Carolina +11

Individual medalist: Baard Skogan, Texas Tech (-8)

Advancing individual: Ethan Evans, Duke (-6)

Purdue regional site
Birck Boilermaker Golf Complex, West Lafayette, Ind. 

Vanderbilt shot a final round of 8-under 280, while Purdue shot a final round 4-over 292 to give Vanderbilt the 11-shot win after holding just a one-shot lead heading into the closing round. William Moll of Vanderbilt won the individual competition at 7-under, outlasting Bastien Amat of New Mexico and Gordon Sargent of Vanderbilt, the No. 1 ranked amateur in the Golfweek/AmateurGolf.com World Rankings. The top five finished ten shots better than the sixth place finisher San Diego State. Cameron Huss of Wisconsin won the individual qualifying spot on the fifth playoff hole with a birdie of Owen Stamper of Middle Tennessee State and Garret Endicott of Mississippi State. 

Five advancing teams: 1. Vanderbilt -24; 2. Purdue -11; 3. Florida -4; 4. Arizona -3; 5. New Mexico -2

Outside the cutline: 6. San Diego State +8; 7. Mississippi State +9; 8. Indiana +10

Individual medalist: William Moll, Vanderbilt (-7)

Advancing individual: Cameron Huss, Wisconsin (-5)

San Diego regional site
The Farms Golf Club, Rancho Santa Fe, Calif. 

Ben Lorenz led Oklahoma to the regional sweep, with the Sooners finishing 3-under and the only team to shoot under par for the tournament. No. 1 seed Arizona State struggled throughout the week and missed qualifying as a team by five shots, finishing 15-over. California, Oklahoma State, West Virginia and North Florida join Oklahoma in the top five. Lorenz shot 8-under to run away with the individual win at 8-under after a final-round of 6-under 64. 36-hole leader Sampson Zheng of California shot a 1-over 71 to finish 4-under and T2 with Andi Xu of San Diego. Xu earned the individual qualifying spot. 2023 Walker Cupper Nick Gabrelcik of North Florida finished T4 at 2-under. 

Five advancing teams: 1. Oklahoma -3; 2. California +3; T3. Oklahoma State +5, T3. West Virginia +5; 5. North Florida +10

Outside the cutline: 6. Arizona State +15, 7. San Diego +17; 8. Washington +20

Individual medalist: Ben Lorenz, Oklahoma (-8)

Advancing individual: Andi Xu, San Diego (-4)

Stanford regional site
Stanford Golf Course, Stanford, Calif. 

Illinois and Florida State pulled away from the crowd, with the Illini shooting 36-under and winning by eight shots. It was a strong bounce back for Illinois after its streak of nine straight Big Ten championships coming to an end this season. Host school Stanford shot a final round 3-under 285 to jump Ole Miss and into the top five and earn a qualifying spot. Max Herendeen of Illinois went wire-to-wire to win the individual competition by two shots at 13-under.  

Michael Thorbjornsen of Stanford, who is currently No. 1 in the PGA Tour University Standings, finished T5. 

Five advancing teams: 1. Illinois -36; 2. Florida State -28; 3. Texas A&M -19; T4. SMU -10; T4. Stanford -10

Outside the cutline: 6. Ole Miss -9; 7. UCLA -5

Individual medalist: Max Herendeen, Illinois (-13)

Advancing individual: Ben Warian, Minnesota (-11)

View results for NCAA Division I Championship
ABOUT THE NCAA Division I Championship

30 teams and 6 individuals not on a qualifying team make up the field for the championship of NCAA Division I women's golf.

After 72 holes of stroke play, the individual champion is crowned, and the low 8 teams advance to match play to determine the team champion.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92009

Instagram X Facebook YouTube