North Carolina continues its winning ways at Augusta Haskins Award Invitational
07 Apr 2024
by Justin Golba of AmateurGolf.com

see also: View results for Augusta Invitational, Forest Hills Golf Club, Tobias Jonsson Rankings

North Carolina Men's Golf team (UNC Athletics Photo)
North Carolina Men's Golf team (UNC Athletics Photo)

North Carolina, the number one team in the country, won its fifth title of the season, the 2024 Augusta Haskins Award Invitational, at Forest Hills Golf Club in Augusta, Ga.

The Tar Heels won by six shots at 21-under, carding rounds of 281-279-283 to pull away from the field.

The Tar Heels 5-under 283 held off Texas and Oklahoma State to win. Texas finished in solo second place at 15-under and shot a 9-under 279 in the final round, and Oklahoma State finished in solo third place at 13-under and shot a 10-under 278 final round.

Illinois finished in solo fourth place at 8-under, and Augusta finished in solo fifth place at 7-under to round out the top five. Oklahoma and East Tennessee State finished T6 at 6-under.

Augusta University leads the field and owns the tournament record for most team wins, with 12 team titles in this event. This is North Carolina's fourth team win, jumping Texas for second place.

The last two team champions, Texas in 2022 and Florida in 2023 have gone on to win the NCAA Championship in the same season, so the No. 1 ranked Tar Heels will be looking to complete the three-peat in that regard. 

In the individual competition, Tobias Jonsson of Mercer completed the one-shot win, finishing at 9-under with rounds of 71-68-68. 

Jonsson is ranked No. 42 in the Golfweek/AmateurGolf.com World Rankings.

Bo Jin of Oklahoma State finished in solo second place at 8-under. Jin shot an impressive 6-under 66 in the final round but came up just short of tying for the lead. 

Jackson Buchanan of Illinois held the 36-hole lead by two shots, but a 2-over 74 in the final round saw him fall to T3, along with Peter Fountain of North Carolina, Mats Ege of East Tennessee State, and Ryan van der Klis of Augusta.

Buchanan won the Oregon Duck Invitational two weeks ago.

Oregon Duck Invitational: Jackson Buchanan leads Illinois to its third win of the season

David Ford of North Carolina, the No. 3 ranked player in the Golfweek/AmateurGolf.com World Rankings, finished T7 with teammate Dylan Menante at 5-under. Menante held the first-round lead after an opening 4-under 68, along with Tommy Morrison of Texas.

Notable players to have won the individual title include Masters Champions Phil Mickelson in 1989 and Dustin Johnson in 2007.

Results: Augusta Invitational
1SwedenTobias JonssonSweden60071-68-68=207
2CABo JinEncinitas, CA40070-72-66=208
T3South AfricaRyan van der KlisSouth Africa30073-69-68=210
T3NCPeter FountainRaleigh, NC30074-67-69=210
T3NorwayMats EgeNorway30071-69-70=210

View full results for Augusta Invitational

ABOUT THE Augusta Invitational

Founded in 1979, The Augusta Haskins Award Invitational presented by Valspar carries on the rich tradition of golf in Augusta, Georgia. The winner receives an automatic exemption into the PGA TOUR’s 3M Open.

Some of the best golf teams in the country have competed in the event's history, featuring several touring pros such as Davis Love III, Phil Mickelson (1989), Brad Faxon, Justin Leonard (1992), Vaughn Taylor (1998), Oliver Wilson (2001, 2003), Chris Kirk (2005), Scott Brown (2006), Dustin Johnson (2007), Henrik Norlander (2010), Jordan Spieth, Patrick Reed, and Beau Hossler (2016).

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92009

Instagram X Facebook YouTube