Amateur over pro: Christo Lamprecht defeats Nick Dunlap to win the Georgia Cup
07 Apr 2024
by Justin Golba of AmateurGolf.com

see also: The Golf Club Of Georgia - Lakeside Course, Christo Lamprecht Rankings

Christo Lamprecht and Nick Dunlap (Georgia Cup Photo)
Christo Lamprecht and Nick Dunlap (Georgia Cup Photo)

In the first-ever Georgia Cup of an amateur against a professional, the amateur secured the upper hand.

Christo Lamprecht defeated Nick Dunlap 1-up to win the 27th Georgia Cup match at The Golf Club Of Georgia, the Lakeside Course, in Alpharetta, Ga. Dunlap was the first-ever player to compete in the Georgia Cup after already turning pro. 

Lamprecht made a 14-foot eagle putt on No. 18 to win over Dunlap in the tightly contested match.

The 6'8 23-year-old was the third South African to play in the match, joining Jovan Rebula in 2019 and last year's winner, Aldrich Potgieter.

South Africa is now 3-0 in the Georgia Cup.

Georgia Cup: Aldrich Potgieter defeats Sam Bennett

Lamprecht is currently ranked No. 4 in the Golfweek/AmateurGolf.com World Rankings.

The Amateur champions now lead the U.S. Amateur champions 15-11 in the series. The 2020 match was canceled due to the COVID-19 pandemic and a postponement of The Masters until November. 

The Georgia Cup is an 18-hole match play event played annually between the reigning United States and the British Amateur champions.


1998 Matt Kuchar (U.S.) def. Craig Watson (British)
1999 Sergio Garcia (British) def. Hank Kuehne (U.S.)
2000 David Gossett (U.S.) def. Graeme Storm (British)
2001 Mikko Ilonen (British) def. Jeff Quinney (U.S.)
2002 Michael Hoey (British) def. Bubba Dickerson (U.S.)
2003 Ricky Barnes (U.S.) def. Alejandro Larrazabal (British)
2004 Gary Wolstenholme (British) def. Nick Flanagan (U.S.)
2005 Ryan Moore (U.S.) def. Stuart Wilson (British)
2006 Brian McElhinney (British) def. Edoardo Molinari (U.S.)
2007 Richie Ramsay (U.S.) def. Julien Guerrier (British)
2008 Colt Knost (U.S.) def. Drew Weaver (British)
2009 Danny Lee (U.S.) def. Reinier Saxton (British)
2010 Matteo Manassero (British) def. Byeong-Hun An (U.S.)
2011 Peter Uihlein (U.S.) def. Jin Jeong (British)
2012 Bryden Macpherson (British) def. Kelly Kraft (U.S.)
2013 Alan Dunbar (British) def. Steven Fox (U.S.)
2014 Garrick Porteous (British) def. Matt Fitzpatrick (U.S.)
2015 Gunn Yang (U.S.) def. Bradley Neil (British)
2016 Romain Langasque (British) def. Bryson DeChambeau (U.S.)
2017 Scott Gregory (British) def. Curtis Luck (U.S.)
2018 Harry Ellis (British) def. Doc Redman (U.S.)
2019 Jovan Rebula (British) def. Viktor Hovland (U.S.)
2020 Andy Ogletree (U.S.) vs. James Sugrue (British) - match not held due to pandemic
2021 Tyler Strafaci (U.S.) def. Joe Long (British)
2022 James Piot (U.S.) def. Laird Shepherd (British)
2023 Aldrich Potgieter (British) def. Sam Bennett (U.S.)

ABOUT THE Georgia Cup

Established at The Golf Club of Georgia in 1998, The Georgia Cup annually brings together the reigning United States Amateur and British Amateur Champion for an 18-hole match in advance of the Masters.

Over the years, The Georgia Cup has grown from an intimate Club event to a unique amateur championship known on both sides of the Atlantic. The event benefits the Yates Scholarships and the Moncrief Turfgrass Scholarships of the GSGA Foundation, as well as the Folds of Honor Foundation.

The Georgia Cup presents a special opportunity for galleries attending at The Golf Club of Georgia. In the spirit and intimacy of the Walker Cup matches, fans can walk with the players, unhindered by gallery ropes, enjoying a unique perspective.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92009

Instagram X Facebook YouTube