Southwestern Men's Amateur 2021 Championship
June 16 - 19 2021
Scottsdale, AZ


Tournament Overview

Southwestern Men's Amateur 2021 Championship
72-hole stroke play championship for national- level amateurs with a handicap index of 1.4 or better. After 36 holes, the field will be cut to the low 40 and ties. The SWGA Selection Committee will select players to compete based upon exemptions, playing resume and rankings.

The SWGA reserves the right to invite amateurs of national and international reputation, as well as other amateurs "of note", to enter into the tournament. Applicants are urged to submit their entries with golf resumes of accomplishment in major tournaments and other competitive record information.

Search Terms

Format: Stroke Play
Categories: Men
Regions: Southwest


Desert Mountain Golf Club - Outlaw Course Desert Mountain Golf Club - Outlaw Course
41045 N Cave Creek Rd
Scottsdale, AZ  85262
phone: (480) 488-1362 or (800) 362-5827
url: www.desertmountain.com

Tournament News

The latest results for the 2021 Southwestern Men's Amateur 2021 Championship are posted available via the link below.
Click here to view results.

In addition to the table results below, PDF versions of past results are available to view or download.

Showing results for

1HIJino SohnHonolulu, HI70067-66-67-66=266
T2NMSean CarlonAlbuquerque, NM50069-72-66-63=270
T2CABlake HathcoatFresno, CA50069-66-70-65=270
T2KSChase HannaLeawood, KS50065-67-69-69=270
T5CATanner HughesLivermore, CA40069-68-69-67=273
T5ILDaniel HudsonWestern Springs, IL40068-69-68-68=273
T5KSAndy SpencerLeawood, KS40071-66-67-69=273
8CAJamie CheathamSan Diego, CA30066-75-67-66=274
T9CABraeden KoranFallbrook, CA30071-69-69-66=275
T9AZKen TanigawaParadise Valley, AZ30071-68-69-67=275
T9OKQuade CumminsWeatherford, OK30063-70-71-71=275
T12CAMatthew WolffAgoura Hills, CA20074-67-67-68=276
T12CAFinigan TillySan Carlos, CA20069-72-66-69=276
T12CAPeter KuestFresno, CA20067-68-69-72=276
T15CADavid LaskinElk Grove, CA20069-70-70-68=277
T15TXPapito GonzalezMcAllen, TX20075-64-70-68=277
T15COColin PraterColorado Springs, CO20067-69-71-70=277
T18COJake StaianoCherry Hills, CO10073-70-67-68=278
T18KYNoah CombsPikeville, KY10068-74-68-68=278
T18IABroc EverettWest Des Moines, IA10071-71-68-68=278
T18TXMario CarmonaHouston, TX10074-69-66-69=278
T18VASam StilwellSterling, VA10072-67-67-72=278
T18HIKyle SuppaHonolulu, HI10069-67-70-72=278
T24OKThomas JohnsonNorman, OK5070-71-69-69=279
T24AZMichael FeaglesScotsdale, AZ5068-73-68-70=279
T24CAAlex LeeSacramento, CA5069-69-70-71=279
T24GuatemalaDaniel GurtnerGuatemala5069-69-68-73=279
T28IATripp KinneyWaukee, IA5071-73-68-68=280
T28AZColton YatesScottsdale, AZ5073-68-70-69=280
T28NDRiley JohnsonFargo, ND5070-71-69-70=280
T28AZBlake CannonMesa, AZ5073-67-70-70=280
T28TXTriston FisherSouthlake, TX5071-69-69-71=280

First played in 1915, the Southwestern Amateur has been played at a variety of sites throughout Arizona, California, Texas, Nevada and New Mexico on annual basis with the exception of a three- year hiatus from 1943-45 because of World War II. On four occasions the event has been played in Mexico.

Originally founded as a regional match play invitational tournament for private golf course members to compete against the nation’s best amateur players, the Southwestern Amateur has developed a stellar reputation as a high-quality competition for the nation’s top players. The tournament was changed to a stroke play event in 1966 to meet the growing demands of the tournament and the increased popularity of the game created during the Palmer-Nicklaus era.

The Southwestern Amateur has a long and distinguished list of previous champions that have gone on to great succeess on the PGA Tour and Champions Tour.


2020 (cancelled)
2019 Hunter Ostrom
2018 Wells Padgett
2017 Jino Sohn
2016 P.J. Samiere
2015 Dylan Healey
2014 Kyle Jones
2013 J.T. Poston
2012 Kevin Dougherty
2011 Stephan Carney
2010 Estanislao Guerrero
2009 Travis Wolf
2008 Matt Hoffenberg
2007 Aaron Weston
2006 Ben Fox
2005 Jay Choi
2004 Dustin Mills
2003 Brien Davis
2002 Nick Watney
2001 John R. Davis
2000 Robert Hamilton
1999 Ryan Palmer
1998 Russell Surber
1997 Edward Loar
1996 Scott Gibson
1995 Ryan Hietala
1994 David Lebeck
1993 Ted Purdy
1992 Scott Peterson
1991 Matt Blaugrund
1990 Mark Gilmartin
1989 Scott Frisch
1988 Scott Frisch
1987 Scott Frisch
1986 John O'Neil
1985 John O'Neil
1984 Jim Carter
1983 Jim Carter
1982 Tom Pernice, Jr.
1981 Corey Pavin
1980 Mark O'Meara
1979 Lennie Clements
1978 Mitch Mooney
1977 Jeff Kern
1976 Jay Haas
1975 Craig Stadler
1974 Stan Lee
1973 Dub Huckabee
1972 Guy Cullins
1971 Gary Sanders
1970 Bruce Ashworth
1969 Dr. Ed Updegraff
1968 Allen Miller
1967 Wayne Volimer
1966 Bill McCormick
1965 Dan Sommers
1964 Terry Dear
1963 Wayne Breck
1962 George Boutell
1961 Dr. Ed Updegraff
1960 Ralph Quiroz
1959 Jim Bernard
1958 Billy Moya
1957 Frank Redman
1956 Johnny Dawson
1955 Dr. Ed Updegraff
1954 Dr. Ed Updegraff
1953 Bill Knick
1952 Pat Rea
1951 Bob Goldwater
1950 Fred Chavez
1949 Lt. Richard Taylor
1948 Lt. Richard Taylor
1947 Vern Stewart
1946 Vic Blalack, Sr.
1945 (no tournament held)
1944 (no tournament held)
1943 (no tournament held)
1942 Bob Goldwater
1941 Blaine McNutt
1940 Vern Stewart
1939 Kim Bannister, Jr.
1938 Ralph Petty
1937 Kim Bannister, Jr.
1936 Kim Bannister, Jr.
1935 Jack Harden
1934 Vern Stewart
1933 Vern Stewart
1932 Vern Stewart
1931 Vern Stewart
1930 K.D. Harrison
1929 Dr. James Vance
1928 Kim Bannister, Sr.
1927 Bob Goldwater
1926 B.J. Ryerson
1925 F.C. Jordan
1924 Charles McArthur
1923 Dr. James Vance
1922 Dr. James Vance
1921 Dr. James Vance
1920 H.S. Corbett
1919 Kim Bannister, Sr.
1918 Kim Bannister, Sr.
1917 Dr. James Vance
1916 Dr. James Vance
1915 E.C. Robinson

You must be logged in with an active amateurgolf.com membership to register for this event.

Login or Signup to get started.


$395Includes up to four championship rounds with cart, one practice round with cart, breakfast and lunch each tournament day, and player gift

Welcome to the Southwestern Men's Amateur 2021 Championship online registration system, powered by AmateurGolf.com. Please enter your access code below. If you do not have an access code, please visit the tournament website to request an invitation.

Access Code:

Contact Information

John Ranslem, Executive Director
P.O. Box 842124
Houston, TX 77284

Get the Strackaline Book for Desert Mountain Golf Club - Outlaw Course

StrackaLine's world renowned laser scanned greens guides have been helping golfers make more putts since 2007. With StrackaLine greens guides and yardage books, you can rely on the same data used by tour players and their caddies for the most precise green-reading.

Get 25% off StrackaLine by using the links below.

Strackaline: Desert Mountain Golf Club - Outlaw Course
Strackaline: Search 10000+ Courses
Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram