November 02 - 14 2021
San Francisco, CA


Tournament Overview



*An NCGA Points Tournament*

**Entry procedure for fall 2021: Players who were in the field this spring before the tournament was postponed have first chance to re-register. They will be emailed an access code to register, and registration for these players opens on July 1. Registration opens for all other players on August 1.

Open to the first 50 entries received. Participants must have an index of 9.4 or lower as of the date of entry and must have an age of 65 or older as of the first day of the tournament. Qualifying will consist of one 18-hole stroke play round after which the Men's Super-Senior Championship Flight will consist of 16 contestants.

In case of ties, there will be a card off to determine the players who will advance to match play. Individual scores will determine seeding for match play. There will be no refunds after entries close. All rounds will be played at TPC Harding Park Golf Course.

A schedule of all dates of play can be found on the tournament website sfgolfchampionship.com.

The oldest municipal tournament in the USA. Match play event with scratch men's, senior, women's, senior women's and open flight divisions. Past champions include Ken Venturi, Harvie Ward, Juli Inkster, Bob Rosburg, George Archer, and Dorothy Delasin. Some of the 'non winners' include Tom Watson and Johnny Miller. Click the 'history' tab for more about this wonderful event.

Search Terms

Format: Match Play
Categories: Men Super-Senior
Regions: Northern California, Pacific


TPC Harding Park Golf Course TPC Harding Park Golf Course
99 Harding Rd
San Francisco, CA  94132-1021
phone: 415-664-4690
url: tpc.com/hardingpark

Tournament News

The following results are available to view or download:

2020 Final Results
2019 Final Results
2018 Final Results
2017 Final Results

by Pete Wlodkowski

The San Francisco City Championship was inaugurated in 1917, and is the Country's oldest municipal golf tournament. The Women's division was added in 1958. In its early years, the tournament was hosted by the Sun- Bulletin newspaper and has had numerous sponsors throughout its history such as Bob Varner, Tom Culligan, and Pepsi.

The name of the tournament is deceiving, as the field is typically made up of the best amateurs from throughout Northern California. As a matter of fact, the 1999 field included Mark Murphy of Waterville, Ireland, who made it to the quarterfinals before being ousted in a nail-biter by Gary Vanier. (Vanier eventually lost to Randy Haag in what was called the best final since Ken Venturi beat Harvey Ward in 1956 in front of 12,000 fans.)

Another thing that makes the City Championship a unique event is the inclusion of an "Open" Division, allowing for amateurs of varying abilities to compete. The top two flights in the Open Division, named the "Venturi" and "Susko" respectively, are named for two of the tournaments' most popular competitors, Ken Venturi and John Susko, the latter of whom met an untimely death from Crohn's disease in 1983. Susko is remembered as a popular Lincoln Park golfer who won the City Championship in 1978 and 1980, won the Alameda Commuters in 1981, and participated in a number of National amateur events even with a condition that often sidelined him for weeks at a time.

Those familiar with the City Championship will tell you about the tradition of playing the ball as it lies at San Francisco's Lincoln and Harding Park golf courses in some often very wintry conditions. More than one player has marched in to the tournament office claiming that they will never play again, but their applications usually find their way in the following year. Conditions are the same for everyone; the ability to accept the occasional bad break is paramount to a competitor's success.

Past champions include 1964 US Open Champion Ken Venturi, 1999 US Women's Open Champion Julie Inkster, and 1969 Masters Champion George Archer. More recently, LPGA Tour player Dorothy Delasin* of Daly City (winner of the 1998 US Junior Girls Championship and 1999 US Women's Amateur) claimed the Women's City Championship in 1998.


2020 Herb Jensen
2019 Frank Pieper
2018 Mark Miller
2017 Ron Johnson
2016 David Bosley
2015 Jim Rogers
2014 Eli Urquiza
2013 Ron Johnson
2012 Dave Carroll
2000 Vic Santa Maria
1999 Vic Santa Maria
1998 Vic Santa Maria
1997 Pete Nelson
1996 Hank Lucite

You must be logged in with an active amateurgolf.com membership to register for this event.

Login or Signup to get started.

Super Senior
Participants must have an index of 9.4 or lower and must be age of 65 or older as of the first day of qualifying

$225Entry fee includes greens free for qualifying and all match play rounds -- all contested at TPC Harding Park
$250Entry fee includes greens free for qualifying and all match play rounds -- all contested at TPC Harding Park and a $25 Donation to the First Tee of SF
$275Entry fee includes greens free for qualifying and all match play rounds -- all contested at TPC Harding Park and a $50 Donation to the First Tee of SF
$300Entry fee includes greens free for qualifying and all match play rounds -- all contested at TPC Harding Park and a $75 Donation to the First Tee of SF

Super Senior
Stephen BairdConcord, CA
paul behrendel cerrito, CA
David BosleyFairfield, CA
richard brownmonte sereno, CA
Larry CerfOakland, CA
Peter ClarkeSanta Cruz, CA
Tom CraigLafayette, CA
Michael DonnellyBrentwood, CA
Dennis DonohueRoseville, CA
Neil DuffySanta Cruz, CA
Ronald F. FernandezThousand Oaks, CA
Stuart FrancisBurlingame, CA
Jay GuerinFremont, CA
Stephen HenriksenTIBURON, CA
Herb JensenCarmichael , CA
Ron JohnsonWalnut Creek, CA
Mike KinchRipon, CA
Steven LandiSan Francisco, CA
Tom LyonsBrentwood, CA
Mark MillerBrentwood, CA
Rob MillerSaratoga, CA
Maurice MonserezSan Francisco, CA
Ken NoonanPacific Grove, CA
Tom OConnorSan Bruno, CA
Greg O'MalleyReno, NV
Alfred OppenheimMILL VALLEY, CA
Mike ParnowSonoma, CA
Harry PearsonPenngrove, CA
Frank PieperCarmel, CA
bobby renselbakersfield, CA
Larry RiisGreenbrae, CA
Kent SamuelThe Woodlands, TX
Hideki SasaSan Francisco, CA
Tom ScarlettWoodland, CA
David SchroederMenlo Park, CA
Jim WilliamsOrinda, CA
Tony Wilmersan mateo, CA
Michael WishartHillsborough, CA
Rocky WolfPalo Alto, CA
Joe ZanassiFairfield, CA

To register for this tournament, you will need an active AmateurGolf.com profile. If you have already created a profile, please log in below. If not, please click 'Join Now' below to create one.

Once you create your profile, you will be given two options to activate your profile. One is to accept a 30-day free trial membership on AmateurGolf.com (no strings, no credit card information taken), and the other is to purchase a one-year AmateurGolf.com membership—San Francisco City 2021 SUPER SENIOR CHAMPIONSHIP players receive a second year free!

(Note that if you have an AmateurGolf.com profile that has expired, simply log in and you will be extended a 30-day free membership.)


Contact Information

Tournament Director
San Francisco, CA 94132
Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram