San Francisco City 2020 WOMEN'S CHAMPIONSHIP
February 22 - March 01 2020
San Francisco, CA


Tournament Overview

San Francisco City 2020 WOMEN'S CHAMPIONSHIP

Open to the first 60 entries received. No index required. Qualifying will consist of one 18-hole stroke play round after which the Men's Senior Championship Flight will consist of 16 contestants -- the defending champion if entered (who will be the #2 seed), and the remainder from the Women’s Championship qualifier.

If the defending champion wishes to play in qualifying for Medalist honors, she loses the #2 seed and will be seeded accordingly if she qualifies successfully.

The next 16 contestants will be seeded in the Juli Inkster Flight. Individual scores will determine seeding for match play. There will be no refunds after entries close. All rounds will be played at TPC Harding Park Golf Course.

*In the event of a playoff for match play a player must be present in order to retain her right to participate in the playoff.

A schedule of all dates of play can be found on the tournament website sfgolfchampionship.com.

The oldest municipal tournament in the USA. Match play event with scratch men's, senior, women's, senior women's and open flight divisions. Past champions include Ken Venturi, Harvie Ward, Juli Inkster, Bob Rosburg, George Archer, and Dorothy Delasin. Some of the 'non winners' include Tom Watson and Johnny Miller. Click the 'history' tab for more about this wonderful event.

Search Terms

Format: Match Play
Categories: Women
Regions: Northern California, Pacific


TPC Harding Park Golf Course TPC Harding Park Golf Course
99 Harding Rd
San Francisco, CA  94132-1021
phone: 415-664-4690
url: tpc.com/hardingpark

Tournament News

The following results are available to view or download:

2020 Final Results
2019 Final Results
2018 Final Results

by Pete Wlodkowski

The San Francisco City Championship was inaugurated in 1917, and is the Country's oldest municipal golf tournament. The Women's division was added in 1958. In its early years, the tournament was hosted by the Sun-Bulletin newspaper and has had numerous sponsors throughout its history such as Bob Varner, Tom Culligan, and Pepsi.

The name of the tournament is deceiving, as the field is typically made up of the best amateurs from throughout Northern California. As a matter of fact, the 1999 field included Mark Murphy of Waterville, Ireland, who made it to the quarterfinals before being ousted in a nail-biter by Gary Vanier. (Vanier eventually lost to Randy Haag in what was called the best final since Ken Venturi beat Harvey Ward in 1956 in front of 12,000 fans.)

Another thing that makes the City Championship a unique event is the inclusion of an "Open" Division, allowing for amateurs of varying abilities to compete. The top two flights in the Open Division, named the "Venturi" and "Susko" respectively, are named for two of the tournaments' most popular competitors, Ken Venturi and John Susko, the latter of whom met an untimely death from Crohn's disease in 1983. Susko is remembered as a popular Lincoln Park golfer who won the City Championship in 1978 and 1980, won the Alameda Commuters in 1981, and participated in a number of National amateur events even with a condition that often sidelined him for weeks at a time.

Those familiar with the City Championship will tell you about the tradition of playing the ball as it lies at San Francisco's Lincoln and Harding Park golf courses in some often very wintry conditions. More than one player has marched in to the tournament office claiming that they will never play again, but their applications usually find their way in the following year. Conditions are the same for everyone; the ability to accept the occasional bad break is paramount to a competitor's success.

Past champions include 1964 US Open Champion Ken Venturi, 1999 US Women's Open Champion Julie Inkster, and 1969 Masters Champion George Archer. More recently, LPGA Tour player Dorothy Delasin* of Daly City (winner of the 1998 US Junior Girls Championship and 1999 US Women's Amateur) claimed the Women's City Championship in 1998.


2020 Emily Hou
2019 Danielle Suh
2018 Simar Singh
2017 Sabrina Iqbal
2016 Sabrina Iqbal
2015 Sara Banke
2014 Cassie Cathrea
2013 Cassie Cathrea
2012 Alexandra Wong
2011 Hannah Suh
2010 Samantha Esguerra
2009 Bonnie Hu
2008 Emily Childs
2007 Diana Kwon
2006 Diana Kwon
2005 Sally Krueger
2004 Sally Krueger
2003 Eva Monisteri
2002 M. Peterson
2001 Eden Anderson
2000 Martha Burkard
1999 Kim Welch
1998 Dorothy Delasin
1997 Sally Krueger
1996 Sally Krueger
1995 Jae Jean Ro
1994 Linda Segre
1993 Linda Segre
1992 Heather Hughes
1991 Heather Hughes
1990 Pat Cornett-Iker
1989 Pat Cornett-Iker
1988 Sally (Voss) Krueger
1987 Denise Philbrick
1986 Sally Voss
1985 Nancy Turner, Jr.
1984 Sally Voss
1983 Sally Voss
1982 Sally Voss
1981 Juli (Simpson) Inkster
1980 Carol Conidi
1979 Juli Simpson
1978 Sally Voss
1977 Barbara Vetrano
1976 Margaret Leonard
1975 Patricia Cornett
1974 Cheryl Pastore
1973 Lauren Howe
1972 Pam Palmieri
1971 Shelley Hamlin
1970 Shelley Hamlin
1969 Noni Schneider
1968 Shelley Hamlin
1967 Linda Collins Maurer
1966 Marie Strand
1965 Jan Ferraris
1964 Jan Ferraris
1963 Jan Ferraris
1962 Jan Ferraris
1961 Jane Thomas
1960 Linda Collins
1959 Dorothy Stamps
1958 Angie Vote

Priya BakshiPalo Alto, CA
Lexi BoorasRocklin, CA
Jordan BriggsLivermore, CA
Ellie BushnellGranite Bay, CA
Annabelle ChenFremont, CA
Claire ChenFremont, CA
Leigh ChienIrvine, CA
Nikki ChindavongFairfield, CA
Mia ChoCarmichael, CA
Harper ClementzSan Francisco, CA
Lillie DaytonHealdsburg, CA
Darla May Dela TorreFairfield, CA
Olivia DuanCupertino, CA
Madelyn GamblePleasant Hill , CA
Morgan GamblePleasant Hill, CA
Andrea GomezSanta Clara, CA
Elizabeth GongSan Francisco, CA
Olivia GuoLos Altos, CA
Alaythia HindsRancho Murieta, CA
Emily HouSan Ramon, CA
Gianna InguagiatoMenlo Park, CA
Mika JinFremont, CA
Viveka KurupRedwood Shores, CA
Abigail LeightonSanta Rosa, CA
Carolyn LiuSan Jose, CA
Faith LowFoster city, CA
Emily LuoDanville, CA
Sammie MillerBrentwood, CA
amy nachico, CA
Daniela OkinoElk grove, CA
Meghan ParacuellesFolsom, CA
Brenna PreapStockton, CA
Melanie RaymundoSan Ramon, CA
Kiara RomeroSan Jose, CA
Charlotte RyooPleasanton, CA
Aman SanghaSan Mateo, CA
Hannah SanghaSan Mateo, CA
Lauren ShewSan Francisco, CA
Gabby SinatraSanta Rosa, CA
Grace SmithSacramento, CA
Danielle SuhSan Ramon, CA
Sophie ThaiLos Altos, USA
Erica VillegasFairfield, CA
Katelyn VoSan Jose, CA
Natalie VoSan Jose, CA
Alexa WeaverPacifica, CA
Melissa WeaverPacifica, CA
Kati WilkesDanville, CA
Carissa WuDublin, CA
Madison WuDublin, CA
Tina XuLos Altos, CA
Christine YuFolsom, CA
Jacqueline YuenLos Gatos, CA
Cynthia ZhangMilpitas, CA

Welcome to the online registration system, powered by AmateurGolf.com. Please enter your access code below. If you do not have an access code, please visit the to request an invitation.

Access Code:

Contact Information

Tournament Director
San Francisco, CA 94132
Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram