Fred Haskins Award
May 28 2024
Columbus, GA


Tournament Overview

Fred Haskins Award
Since 1971, the Haskins Award honors the most outstanding male college golfer each year. It is named in memory of Fred Haskins, former golf teaching professional at the Country Club of Columbus (Georgia) who devoted his life to nurturing and mentoring amateur players.

Search Terms

Format: Other
Categories: Men College


Haskins Foundation / ANNIKA Award Haskins Foundation / ANNIKA Award
2610 Cherokee Avenue
Columbus, GA  31906
phone: or
url: www.haskinsfoundation.org

Tournament News

From the seaside town of Liverpool to a quaint Donald Ross course in Georgia, Fred Haskins built a reputation for mentoring young golfers and as a master club-maker. Haskins was head professional at the Country Club of Columbus for 34 years starting in 1922, recommended for the position by the legendary Bobby Jones. His proteges learned the game in Saturday morning classes that cost a nickel and they went on to win more than 150 collegiate and amateur tournaments.

Since its formation in 1971, the Haskins Commission has been devoted to amateur golf and the presentation of the Haskins Award. This coveted trophy honors the year’s outstanding college golfer and the memory of Fred Haskins, a club pro that spent his life nurturing and mentoring amateur golfers. The commission, based in Columbus, Ga., oversees the voting conducted among college golfers, coaches and golf media.


2023 Ludvig Aberg (Texas Tech)
2022 Chris Gotterup (Oklahoma)
2021 John Pak (Florida State)
2020 Sahith Theegala (Pepperdine)
2019 Matthew Wolff (Oklahoma State)
2018 Norman Xiong (Oregon)
2017 Braden Thornberry (Ole Miss)
2016 Beau Hossler (Texas)
2015 Maverick McNealy (Stanford)
2014 Patrick Rodgers (Stanford)
2013 Michael Kim (California)
2012 Justin Thomas (Alabama)
2011 Patrick Cantlay (UCLA)
2010 Russell Henley (Georgia)
2009 Matt Hill (N.C. State)
2008 Kevin Chappell (UCLA)
2007 Jamie Lovemark (So. California)
2006 Pablo Martín (Oklahoma State)
2005 Ryan Moore (UNLV)
2004 Bill Haas (Wake Forest)
2003 Hunter Mahan (Oklahoma State)
2002 Graeme McDowell (UAB)
2001 Bryce Molder (Georgia Tech)
2000 Charles Howell III (Oklahoma State)
1999 Luke Donald (Northwestern)
1998 Matt Kuchar (Georgia Tech)
1997 Brad Elder (Texas)
1996 Tiger Woods (Stanford)
1995 Stewart Cink (Georgia Tech)
1994 Justin Leonard (Texas)
1993 David Duval (Georgia Tech)
1992 Phil Mickelson (Arizona State)
1991 Phil Mickelson (Arizona State)
1990 Phil Mickelson (Arizona State)
1989 Robert Gamez (Arizona)
1988 Bob Estes (Texas)
1987 Billy Mayfair (Arizona State)
1986 Scott Verplank (Oklahoma State)
1985 Sam Randolph (So. California)
1984 John Inman (North Carolina)
1983 Brad Faxon (Furman)
1982 Willie Wood (Oklahoma State)
1981 Bob Tway (Oklahoma State)
1980 Bobby Clampett (Brigham Young)
1979 Bobby Clampett (Brigham Young)
1978 Lindy Miller (Oklahoma State)
1977 Scott Simpson (So. California)
1976 Phil Hancock (Florida)
1975 Jay Haas (Wake Forest)
1974 Curtis Strange (Wake Forest)
1973 Ben Crenshaw (Texas)
1972 Ben Crenshaw (Texas)
1971 Ben Crenshaw (Texas)

No registration information is currently available for this tournament.

Welcome to the online registration system, powered by AmateurGolf.com. Please enter your access code below. If you do not have an access code, please visit the to request an invitation.

Access Code:

AmateurGolf.com has partnered with HotelPlanner to negotiate special hotel rates and consolidate the best hotel rates available to the public for the tournament dates.

Find your hotel by using the links below.

HotelPlanner: Find your Fred Haskins Award tournament hotel
HotelPlanner: Find hotels for any location and date

Contact Information

Brian Stubbs
2610 Cherokee Avenue

Columbus, GA 31906
phone: 706-580-9955
Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92009

Instagram X Facebook YouTube