Society of Seniors announces its 2021 players of the year
16 Dec 2021
by Society of Seniors

see also: Rusty Strawn Rankings

L-R: Rusty Strawn, Robin Rubrecht, Jim Grubbs, Jim DuBois (SOS photos)
L-R: Rusty Strawn, Robin Rubrecht, Jim Grubbs, Jim DuBois (SOS photos)

The Society of Seniors (SOS) has announced that Rusty Strawn, Robin Rubrecht, Jim Grubbs, and Jim DuBois are the SOS players of the year for 2021.

The SOS players of the year are determined by points accumulated over the eight Society of Seniors championships. They are the Spring Classic, the Senior Masters, the John Kline Championship, the Jack Hesler Tournament, the National Super Senior Championship, the Dale Morey Championship, the Founders Cup and the Ralph Bogart Tournament.

Strawn ran away with the Senior POY points race, winning three of the six events he entered (the Dale Morey, Spring Classic and Ralph Bogart) and never finishing out of the top 6. Allen Peake was second in the points standings, followed by Greg Sanders, Stephen Maddalena and Randy Haag.

The Super Senior race was a tighter affair, with Rubrecht edging Jeff Burda on the strength of a win at the SOS Senior Masters and two other top-3 finishes. Marc Fried, Evan Long and Emile Vaughan rounded out the top 5.

The closest points race was the one in the Legends division, which was decided by only 10 points (400 to 390). Ultimately it was the win in the Senior Masters that gave Grubbs the edge over Peter Van Ingen, with George Washburn, Pete Allen and Don Donatoni next on the list.

DuBois won two SOS events in 2021 -- the Ralph Bogart and the Jack Hesler -- to hold off another two-time winner Ron Johnson for the Grand Master POY title. Walt Martin, Joel Hirsch, and Steve Wilson finished third through fifth.

The 2022 SOS schedule will begin with the Spring Classic at the Hammock Beach Resort in Palm Coast, Fla., to be played Feb. 21-23.


Latest in, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92009

Instagram X Facebook YouTube