Final Haskins Award, ANNIKA Award watch lists released
The 2019-20 college season has been derailed by the coronavirus (COVID-19) outbreak, with all remaining tournaments cancelled.

But the awards are still coming. Today, the GOLF Channel and Golfweek jointly released the final watch lists for the Fred Haskins Award and the ANNIKA Award, which are presented to the outstanding Division I male and female college golfer, respectively. Each award is voted on by players, coaches and the golf media.

The winners are scheduled to be announced on GOLF Channel in early May.

"With these uncertain times and with the cancellation of the remainder of the 2019-20 NCAA golf season, we believe it is important that we continue to move forward in celebrating the fantastic college golf that took place this year and recognizing these outstanding athletes," said Brian Stubbs, the executive director of the Fred Haskins Commission.

"We feel it is important during this difficult time to still honor the nation’s top players as voted on by their peers, coaches and the media," said Hall-of-Famer Annika Sorenstam, after whom the ANNIKA Award was named. "The chosen players always will be an ANNIKA or Haskins Award winner, and we can’t let the unexpectedly rapid conclusion to the college golf season stop us from acknowledging achievements that will last a lifetime."

The winner of the ANNIKA Award will receive an exemption to compete in the 2021 Evian Championship, while the Haskins Award winner will receive an exemption to compete in the 2020 Military Tribute at the Greenbrier.

Maria Fassi (Arkansas) became the first back-to-back winner of the ANNIKA Award in 2019, while Matthew Wolff (Oklahoma State) won the 2019 Haskins Award.

Haskins Award Watch List (in alphabetical order)

John Augenstein, Vanderbilt
John Axelsen, Florida
Ricky Castillo, Florida
Cooper Dossey, Baylor
Peter Kuest, BYU
William Mouw, Pepperdine
John Pak, Florida State
Garett Reband, Oklahoma
Sahith Theegala, Pepperdine
Davis Thompson, Georgia

ANNIKA Award Watch List (in alphabetical order)

Ana Belac, Duke
Vivian Hou, Arizona
Rachel Kuehn, Wake Forest
Ingrid Lindblad, LSU
Emilia Migliaccio, Wake Forest
Pimnipa Panthong, Kent State
Kaitlyn Papp, Texas
Pauline Roussin-Bouchard, South Carolina
Emma Spitz, UCLA
Natalie Srinivasan, Furman


Created in 2014, the ANNIKA Award presented by Stifel is annually given to the top female U.S. collegiate golfer; the winner voted on by college golfers, coaches and members of the golf media. Named for and presented by Annika Sorenstam, the award was created in partnership with the Haskins Foundation and ANNIKA Foundation to acknowledge the top female golfer at the end of the season and to match the Haskins Award presented by Stifel, which acknowledges the top male Division I collegiate golfer.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92009

Instagram X Facebook YouTube