For Matthew Wolff, Haskins Award tops off stellar season
04 Jun 2019
by Julie Williams of AmateurGolf.com

see also: Haskins Foundation / ANNIKA Award, Matthew Wolff Rankings

Matthew Wolff (Walt Beazley, Razorbacks Athletics Communications)
Matthew Wolff (Walt Beazley, Razorbacks Athletics Communications)

There’s little that Oklahoma State star Matthew Wolff didn’t accomplish in a sophomore season for the books. As of Tuesday, you can add the Haskins Award to that. College players, coaches and golf media voted Wolff into the prestigious circle of men who have claimed the honor since it was founded in 1971.

Wolff won five times in the regular college season, but put a real exclamation point on his season by winning the NCAA individual title last week at Blessings Golf Club in Fayetteville, Ark.

Besides the victories, Wolff’s season scoring average of 68.69 was the best in the nation. The Haskins Award is based on college play, but Wolff also turned a fair amount of heads in February when he made the cut at the Waste Management Phoenix Open. He was the rare amateur to receive a sponsor exemption into that event – the first, in fact, since former Cowboy Rickie Fowler.

Wolff beat out teammate Viktor Hovland, the U.S. Amateur champion and a four-time winner this season, as well as Georgia Southern senior Steven Fisk, who made a run at Wolff for the national title. It would have been individual victory No. 7 for Fisk this season, who went on 59 watch twice in his college career.

Wolff is the eighth Oklahoma State player to claim the award and first since 2006.

ABOUT THE Haskins Award

Since 1971, the Haskins Award honors the most outstanding male college golfer each year. It is named in memory of Fred Haskins, former golf teaching professional at the Country Club of Columbus (Georgia) who devoted his life to nurturing and mentoring amateur players.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92009

Instagram X Facebook YouTube