College golf: NCAA women's regional fields take shape
AGC photo
AGC photo

The women have taken the first step to the national championship. On Wednesday, the 72 teams that will advance to NCAA regional play were announced on Golf Channel, and their regional assignments were revealed.

Four 54-hole regional tournaments will be conducted May 6-8. Each regional will consist of 18 teams and six individuals. The four regional sites are Tumble Creek Golf Club in Cle Elum, Wash.; Jimmie Austin OU Golf Club in Norman, Okla.; Forest Akers West Golf Course in East Lansing, Mich.; and Saugahatchee Country Club in Opelika, Ala.

The low six teams and three individuals not on those teams from each regional will advance to the finals, to be played May 17-22 at Blessings Golf Club in Fayetteville, Ark.

The assignments are below (teams listed by seed; conference included beside teams that earned automatic qualifying spot by winning league championship):

Cle Elum regional

1. USC (Pac-12 Conference)
2. Arkansas
3. South Carolina
4. Northwestern
5. Washington
6. Miami (Florida)
7. Oregon
8. San Jose State
9. Oregon State
10. Old Dominion
11. Iowa State
12. San Diego State (Mountain West Conference)
13. University of Central Florida
14. The Ohio State (Big Ten Conference)
15. California State, Sacramento (Big Sky Conference)
16. New Mexico State (Western Athletic Conference)
17. Boston University (Patriot League)
18. Southern Illinois University at Carbondale (Missouri Valley Conference)

Sophie Hausmann – Idaho
Polly Mack – UNLV
Rose Huang – BYU
Chanikan (Pluem) Yongyuan – Southern Utah
Christine Danielsson – UC Davis
Elizabeth Prior – UNLV

Norman regional

1. Texas (Big 12 Conference)
2. Wake Forest (Atlantic Coast Conference)
3. Florida
4. Arizona State
5. Oklahoma
6. TCU
7. Pepperdine
8. Purdue
9. Ole Miss (Southeastern Conference)
10. Texas Tech
11. Mississippi State
12. Virginia Tech
13. North Carolina State
14. Texas A&M
15. Texas, San Antonio (Conference USA)
16. North Carolina Wilmington (Colonial Athletic Association)
17. Sam Houston State (Southland Conference)
18. Fairleigh Dickinson, Metropolitan Campus (Northeast Conference)

Michaela Fletcher – Memphis
Lauren Cox – North Texas
Brigitte Dunne – SMU
Lianna Bailey – Oklahoma State
Han-Hsuan Yu – Oklahoma State
Lorena Tseng – Tulsa

East Lansing regional

1. Stanford
2. Arizona
3. Kent State (Mid-American Conference)
5. Michigan State
6. Campbell (Big South Conference)
7. Illinois
8. Baylor
9. North Carolina
10. Georgia
11. Louisville
12. Augusta
13. LSU
14. Indiana
15. Long Beach State (Big West Conference)
16. Xavier (Big East Conference)
17. Harvard (The Ivy League)
18. Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis (Horizon League)

Hee Ying Loy – East Tennessee State
Emma Albrecht – Notre Dame
Kirsty Hodgkins – Colorado
Cecilie Finne-Ipsen – Charlotte
Ashley Lau – Michigan
Tereza Melecka – East Tennessee State

Auburn regional

1. Duke
2. Vanderbilt
3. Florida State
4. Auburn
5. Virginia
6. Furman (Southern Conference)
7. Clemson
8. Houston (American Athletic Conference)
9. Kennesaw State (Atlantic Sun Conference)
10. Alabama
11. Tennessee
12. California
13. Maryland
14. East Carolina
15. Denver (The Summit League)
16. South Alabama (Sun Belt Conference)
17. Albany (Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference)
18. Murray State (Ohio Valley Conference)

Leonie Bettel – Kentucky
Brigitte Thibault – California State, Fresno
Hanley Long – Middle Tennessee State
Monica San Juan – Chattanooga
Anne-Charlotte Mora – Texas State
Victoria Huskey – College of Charleston (South Carolina)

ABOUT THE NCAA Division I Women's Championship

24 teams and 12 individuals not on a qualifying team make up the field for the championship of NCAA Division I women's golf.

After 72 holes of stroke play, the individual champion is crowned, and the low 8 teams advance to match play to determine the team champion.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram