Defending champ Nick Moore leads NCGA PubLinks
Nick Moore (NCGA photo)
Nick Moore (NCGA photo)

PEBBLE BEACH, CA (April 23, 2018) - We already know that Monterey resident Nick Moore has a knack for winning the annual NCGA Public Links Championship in years ending with an odd number. Along with winning last year, the three-time champion also took the title in 2013 and 2015.

Despite it being an even-year, Moore is in a familiar spot. The 2015 NCGA Player of the Year, Moore grabbed a share of the lead in this year’s championship, carding an opening round 3-under 68 Monday at par-71 Poppy Hills Golf Course.

Also posting a 68 was Ancil Hoffman GC member Keith Okasaki.

Okasaki, a former standout at UC San Diego, had four birdies to go with just one bogey. Moore penciled in three birdies with zero bogeys.

In third place at 70 are both Ben Peters, who played on the 2017 NCGA Hanna-Wehrman Cup squad, and E-Club East Bay member Garrett Wagner.

With a win, Moore will tie NCGA Hall of Famer Casey Boyns for the most Public Links titles, with four.

Golden Gate Flight

Andy Nordhoff of Bushwood CC is the person to chase after the opening round, as he’d card a 6-under 65 featuring nine birdies, a double-bogey and a bogey.

In second place at 67 is Harding Park GC member Kieran Clifford. Dave Cresson, playing out of Half Moon Bay GL, is alone in third at 69.

Yosemite Flight

Josh Torres of Eagle Ridge Rewards Club took the first round lead, carding a 5-under 66 featuring eight birdies to go against three bogeys. Torres caught fire on the front-nine, carding four straight birdies from holes No.5 through No.8.

In second place at 69 is Dave Burghardt of Dry Creek Men’s Club. In third place is Steve Zercoe of Diablo Grande GC at 70.

Results: NCGA PubLinks
1CABen PetersRedwood City, CA15070-69=139*
2CANed JensenSan Francisco, CA10071-68=139
3CAGarett WagnerBrentwood, CA5070-70=140
4CAMikey SlesinskiFremont, CA5071-71=142
T5CANick MooreSeaside, CA5068-77=145

View full results for NCGA PubLinks


The NCGA Public Links Championship began in 1966 at Spyglass Hill and is the premier event for the public-course player. The tournament has always included a championship flight for players with handicap indexes of 5.4 or less and two handicap divisions for players with no handicap limit. Contestants must be bona fide public course players who do not hold playing privileges in any course from which the general public is excluded.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92009

Instagram X Facebook YouTube