2022 Curtis Cup Matches Awarded to Merion Golf Club
The 2022 Curtis Cup will be the 19th USGA Championship held at Merion
The 2022 Curtis Cup will be the 19th USGA Championship held at Merion

FAR HILLS, N.J. (May 23, 2017) – The United States Golf Association (USGA) has selected Merion Golf Club in Ardmore, Pa., as the host site of the 42nd Curtis Cup Match, to be contested June 10-12, 2022. This will be the 19th USGA championship conducted at Merion, the most by any club, and its second Curtis Cup.

A five-time U.S. Open host site (1934, 1950, 1971, 1981 and 2013), Merion hosted itsfirst USGA championship in 1904 – the U.S. Women’s Amateur. It has since hostedthree additional U.S. Women’s Amateurs (1909, 1926 and 1949), six U.S. Amateurs(1916, 1924, 1930, 1966, 1989 and 2005) and the 1998 U.S. Girls’ Junior. Merion alsohosted the 1954 Curtis Cup, in which the USA Team defeated Great Britain & Ireland,6-3, and the 2009 Walker Cup, also won by the USA, 16½-9½.

“The USGA is thrilled to return to Merion Golf Club for this biennial celebration ofwomen’s amateur golf,” said Stuart Francis, chairman of the USGA ChampionshipCommittee. “An exemplary championship host, Merion has always provided thecomprehensive examination and hospitality expected of USGA championships, and weare confident the club will deliver a memorable experience for all during the 2022 CurtisCup Match.”

Merion is one of only two clubs in the United States to have hosted both the WalkerCup and Curtis Cup matches. The Minikahda Club in Minneapolis, Minn., hosted the1957 Walker Cup and 1998 Curtis Cup matches. Quaker Ridge Golf Club in Scarsdale,N.Y., will join this list next year when it hosts the 2018 Curtis Cup Match. It also hostedthe 1997 Walker Cup Match.

“Merion is proud to have the opportunity to host this historic team competition featuringsome of the best amateur golfers from the United States, and Great Britain andIreland,” said club president James B. Bradbeer Jr. “We look forward to adding to ourlong history in hosting and celebrating women’s championship golf, and creating a newgeneration of golf memories at this special international competition.”

Founded in 1896 as the Merion Cricket Club, Merion’s East Course was designed byHugh Wilson and opened in 1912. A lifelong amateur golfer who was a member of thegolf team at Princeton University, Wilson was assigned the task of creating the EastCourse by the Merion Cricket Club Golf Committee. He also planned Merion’s WestCourse (1914) and Cobb’s Creek Golf Club (1916). Today, every effort is made toensure that people playing the course compete on the same course as the championsof old.

Several of the game’s greats have won USGA championships at Merion, includingCharles “Chick” Evans Jr. (1916 U.S. Amateur); Bob Jones (1924 and 1930 U.S.Amateurs); Dorothy Porter (1949 U.S. Women’s Amateur); Ben Hogan, who defeatedLloyd Mangrum and George Fazio in a playoff (1950 U.S. Open); Lee Trevino, whodefeated Jack Nicklaus in a playoff (1971 U.S. Open); and Justin Rose (2013 U.S.Open).

The 2022 Curtis Cup will be the 89th USGA championship conducted in the state ofPennsylvania. In 2016, the Keystone State hosted four USGA championships, includingthe U.S. Open, won by Dustin Johnson at Oakmont Country Club. The next USGAchampionship slated to take place in Pennsylvania is the 2020 U.S. Amateur Four-BallChampionship at Philadelphia Cricket Club from May 23-27.

The Curtis Cup Match is a biennial team competition contested by female amateurgolfers. One team representing the United States and one team representing GreatBritain and Ireland alternate hosting the Match. The teams consist of not more thaneight players and a captain. The United States leads the all-time Curtis Cup series witha record of 28-8-3. The GB&I Team won the 2016 Match, which was conducted at DunLaoghaire Golf Club in Dublin, Ireland, by an 11.5-8.5 margin.

The 2018 Curtis Cup Match will take place June 8-10 at Quaker Ridge Golf Club and the 2020 Match will be contested at Conwy Golf Club in Caernarvonshire, Wales, June12-14.

ABOUT THE Curtis Cup

Officially named "The Women's International Cup," the first Curtis Cup wasn't officially held until 1932. The biennial competition features the best female players from the United States of America pitted against a similar squad from Great Britain and Ireland. While it was hoped that many nations would eventually join the Match, the Curtis Cup has remained a two-sided competition.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram