Mike McCoy, Gene Elliott win International Four-Ball
The Fox Club <br>(The Fox Club Photo)
The Fox Club
(The Fox Club Photo)

PALM CITY, FL (February 13, 2017) -- With a final day 1-under 70 the Iowa duo of Mike McCoy and Gene Elliott were able to shake free of a 36-hole tie and win the 61st playing of the International Four-Ball.

McCoy and Elliot proceeded their final round at The Fox Club with tallies of 70-64 as they finished 9 under and a slim one shot in front of runner-up Chad Wilfong and Allen Hobbs.

McCoy, the 2013 U.S. Mid-Amateur winner and Elliot have been longtime forces in the amateur game both as teammates and foes. The pair has battled it out for years in Iowa Golf Association events and also on the national stage.

Wilfong and Hobbs made a valiant charge on Monday before coming up one-stroke short of forcing a playoff. The week started with an even-par 71 before Wilfond and Hobbs combined for consecutive 4-under 67's that pushed them to 8 under for week.

Shawn Baker and Jim Scorse (-7) ended up third while Tim Hanlon and Scott Butler and 36-hole co-leaders Rob Couture and Andy McCabe shared fourth at 6 under.

For the second consecutive year Keith Decker and Matt Sughrue captured the title in the Senior Division. The duo from Virginia recored rounds of 64-67-65 to post 17 under.

Decker is coming off a 2016 season that saw him win four Ranking events whereas Sughrue made a deep run at the U.S Senior Amateur before settling for a runner-up finish.

The closest teams to Decker and Sughrue were the 13 under second place sharing Doug Hanzel and Buzz Fly; Pat Tallent and Rick Woulfe pairings.

Chip Lutz and Chris Lange were one shot further back in fourth while Jim Lehman and Jerry Rose rounded out the top five with a 9 under showing.

View results for International Four-Ball

ABOUT THE International Four-Ball

Started in 1957, the International Four-Ball is one of the most prestigious amateur events in the country. The Championship includes Mid-Amateur (ages 25-54), Senior (ages 55-64) and Legends (ages 65 and up) Divisions. All divisions compete in a Four- Ball Stroke Play format which is contested over 3 days and 54 holes. This prestigious event has a rich history, with past champions such as Jack Nicklaus, Deane Beman, Dick Siderowf, Vinnie Giles, Jim Holtgrieve and Downing Gray.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92009

Instagram X Facebook YouTube