Walker Cup moving to even years starting in 2026
22 Mar 2022
by United States Golf Association

see also: The Walker Cup, Cypress Point Club

USGA photo
USGA photo

Beginning with the 2026 Match, the biennial Walker Cup between the USA and Great Britain and Ireland will be contested in even years. The shift was decided jointly by the USGA and The R&A to avoid conflicts with the World Amateur Team Championships, which will be played in odd years beginning in 2023.

“The re-emergence of golf in the Olympic Games has had a ripple effect on the overall golf calendar,” said John Bodenhamer, chief championships officer, USGA. “This is just the next step in that as we make sure team competitions have a balanced schedule and, in this case, encourage participation by the world’s best amateurs without unnecessary conflict.”

Phil Anderton, chief development officer at The R&A, said, “We have looked at this carefully with the USGA and believe that this change creates the best schedule for the players and for the Walker Cup Match itself. The Walker Cup is at the forefront of men’s amateur golf and we want to ensure that its status is reflected in its position in the golf calendar.”

The International Golf Federation announced in 2020 that the World Amateur Team Championships would move to odd years to avoid a same-year conflict with the Summer Olympic Games. Golf made its return to the Olympic program in 2016.

The 49th Walker Cup match will be contested Sept. 2-3, 2023, at St Andrews. The birthplace of golf has hosted eight previous Walker Cups, more than any other venue, most recently in 1975, when the USA defeated GB&I, 15½-8½, led by future U.S. Open champions Jerry Pate and Curtis Strange.

With the calendar change, the Walker Cup Match scheduled for Oakmont (Pa.) Country Club in 2033 has been moved to 2032. The USGA also announced that the 2034 U.S. Open at Oakmont Country Club will move to 2033.

Future Walker Cup Sites and Dates

2023 (Sept. 2-3) -- Old Course at St. Andrews (Scotland)
2025 (Sept. 6-7) -- Cypress Point Club, Pebble Beach, Calif.
2026 -- TBA
2028 (TBA) -- Bandon Dunes Golf Resort, Bandon, Ore.
2030 -- TBA
2032 (TBA) -- Oakmont Country Club, Oakmont, Pa.

ABOUT THE The Walker Cup

The Walker Cup Match is a biennial 10-man amateur team competition between the USA and a team composed of players from Great Britain and Ireland and selected by The R&A. It is played over two days with 18 singles matches and eight foursomes (alternate-shot) matches.

The first United States Walker Cup Team, which in 1922 defeated the GB&I side, 8-4, at the National Golf Links of America, is considered among the best teams ever and included Francis Ouimet, Bob Jones, Charles “Chick” Evans and Jess Sweetser. Many of the game’s greatest players have taken part in Walker Cup competition, including U.S. Open champions Jack Nicklaus, Tiger Woods and Jordan Spieth for the USA and Graeme McDowell, Rory McIlroy and Justin Rose for Great Britain and Ireland.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92009

Instagram X Facebook YouTube