After 20 Years, The Players Amateur leaves the calendar
06 Dec 2019
by Staff

see also: The Players Amateur, Berkeley Hall Club

- Berkeley Hall Club photo
- Berkeley Hall Club photo

The Players Amateur, which quickly became one of the top amateur golf tournaments in the world, will no longer be conducted after a 20 year run.

Steve Wilmot, the President of the Heritage Classic Foundation, and Tournament Director Andy McMillen, released a join statement announcing the termination of the event.

The tournament was first played in 2000 after prominent mid-amateur golfers Duke Delcher and Tom McKnight discussed bringing a high-level amateur event to the lowcountry region of South Carolina. The inaugural event was won by Ben Curtis who went on to win the British Open three years later.

The Heritage Classic Foundation took control of the event shortly thereafter and the tournament became one of the premier events on the major amateur golf calendar. The past champions list is full of PGA Tour players, including Rickie Fowler, Brian Harman, Bill Haas, Camilo Villegas, Bud Cauley and Kevin Tway.

The tournament, played at the Berkeley Hall Club, awarded its champion a spot in the PGA Tour's Heritage Classic at nearby Harbour Town Golf Links.

Last year was the 20th playing of the tournament, and saw the largest final-round comeback in the event's history. Spencer Ralston, a senior at the University of Georgia, came from 11 shot back to overtake mid-amateur and Walker Cupper Stewart Hagestad, who started his first-ever Players Amateur with a 61 in the first round.

Related: Ralston comes from 11 shots down to win Players Amateur

Players Amateur Champions:
2019 Spencer Ralston
2018 John Augenstein
2017 Philip Knowles
2016 Cheng Jin
2015 Matt NeSmith
2014 Scott Vincent
2013 Hunter Stewart
2012 Daniel Nisbett
2011 Corbin Mills
2010 Kevin Tway
2009 Bud Cauley
2008 Mark Anderson
2007 Rickie Fowler
2006 Jonathan Moore
2005 Brian Harman
2004 Aron Price
2003 Camilo Villegas
2002 Bill Haas
2001 Michael Sims
2000 Ben Curtis

ABOUT THE Players Amateur

While competing in the 1999 US Amateur Championship at Pebble Beach, former US Walker Cup Team members, Duke Delcher and Tom McKnight discussed the formation of a premier 72-hole stroke play amateur golf tournament. The inaugural Players Amateur was held the next summer. Former British Open Champion, Ben Curtis, was the winner of the 2000 event.  In 2004, the Heritage Classic Foundation began running the event. The Heritage Classic Foundation was formed in 1987 as a 501 (c) (3), not- for-profit organization, it serves as the operational and financial oversight group for the PGA Tour RBC Heritage Classic. The Foundation distributes all charitable funds generated from the tournaments to charity. The winner of The Players Amateur gets an exemption into the PGA Tour RBC Heritage Classic, as well as the Master of the Amateurs tournament in Melbourne, Australia.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92009

Instagram X Facebook YouTube