Joaquin Niemann Awarded the Mark H. McCormack Medal
24 Aug 2017
by United States Golf Association

see also: Joaquin Niemann Rankings

Joaquin Niemann joins a list of Mark H. McCormack medal<br>winners that includes Jon Rahm and Danny Lee (USGA photo)
Joaquin Niemann joins a list of Mark H. McCormack medal
winners that includes Jon Rahm and Danny Lee (USGA photo)

FAR HILLS, NJ (August 24, 2017) - As the leading player in the 2017 World Amateur Golf Ranking™ at the close of the summer’s championship season, Joaquin Niemann, of Chile, is the winner of the Mark H. McCormack Medal.

"I am very honored to receive the prestigious 2017 Mark H. McCormack medal,” said Niemann, the first player from South America to win the McCormack Medal since its inception in 2007. “Thank you to the USGA and The R&A for this important award."

A 2016 Rolex Junior All-America First-Team selection, Niemann kicked off 2017 with a runner-up finish in the 3rd Latin America Amateur Championship, where he competed in a three-man playoff for the title. He also made several appearances in professional events in 2017, including the U.S. Open and the GreenBrier Classic, where he returned a 72-hole score of 5-under 275 that included a round-leading 64 in the final round. He also won three professional events in Chile, as well as the TaylorMade-adidas Golf Junior at Innisbrook and the Junior Invitational at Sage Valley Golf Club, both in April.

In last week’s U.S. Amateur at The Riviera Country Club and Bel-Air Country Club, Niemann lost to NCAA individual champion and 2017 USA Walker Cup Team member Braden Thornberry in the Round of 64, 1 down. A two-time winner of the IMG Academy Junior World Championship (2015-16), Niemann advanced to the quarterfinals in the 2017 Western Amateur.

Niemann, who joins Danny Lee (2008) and Matthew Fitzpatrick (2013) as the only 18-year-olds to earn the McCormack Medal, will receive an exemption into the 2018 U.S. Open Championship at Shinnecock Hills Golf Club in Southampton, N.Y. (June 14-17), and the 147th Open Championship at Carnoustie Golf Links in Scotland (July 19-22), provided he remains an amateur.

Winners of the Mark H. McCormack Medal

2017 Joaquin Niemann (Chile)
2016 Maverick McNealy (United States)
2015 Jon Rahm (Spain)
2014 Oliver Schniederjans (United States)
2013 Matthew Fitzpatrick (England)
2012 Chris Williams (United States)
2011 Patrick Cantlay (United States)
2010 Peter Uihlein (United States)
2009 Nick Taylor (Canada)
2008 Danny Lee (New Zealand)
2007 Colt Knost (United States)

This R&A and United States Golf Association (USGA) award is named after Mark H. McCormack, who founded the sports marketing company IMG and was a great supporter of amateur golf.

Duncan Weir, Executive Director – Golf Development at The R&A, said, “Joaquin is a thoroughly deserving winner of the Mark H. McMack medal, and I wish to congratulate him on an excellent season. It’s wonderful to see another talented young golfer emerge from South America to compete on the global stage, and we look forward to welcoming Joaquin to Carnoustie for The 147th Open next year.”

“Joaquin Niemann has consistently returned impressive results, especially in high-profile events, and the USGA is pleased to see his steady play recognized with the McCormack Medal,” said John Bodenhamer, USGA senior managing director, Championships & Governance. “We look forward to watching Joaquin succeed for many years to come.”

Last week, Leona Maguire, of Ireland, was named the winner of the Mark H. McCormack Medal for the third consecutive year as the leading player in the Women’s World Amateur Golf Ranking™.

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram