Dave Ryan wins record third Illinois Senior Amateur
Three-time winner Dave Ryan (CDGA photo)
Three-time winner Dave Ryan (CDGA photo)

HOMEWOOD, Ill. — Dave Ryan became the first player to win the Illinois State Senior Amateur Championship three times with a five-stroke victory Friday at Ravisloe Country Club.

Ryan, who also won the 29-year-old event in 2009 and 2013, shot 2-under-par 208 for the three rounds.

The Taylorville native led from start to finish, opening with an even-par 70 on Wednesday before posting the tournament's lowest round on Thursday, a 2-under 68, to build a five-shot lead. Another 70 in Friday's final round, aided by two birdies in his final four holes, led to the comfortable margin of victory over 2014 champion Ed Whitaker.

Whitaker was in Friday's final group, alongside Ted Pecora. Whitaker shot his lowest score of the tournament, 70, but still fell five shots short of repeating. Pecora settled for third place, shooting 73 in the final round and finishing a stroke behind Whitaker.

Tom Miler and Joel Patton tied for fourth place at 7-over 217, with both players firing solid final rounds of 71.

View results for Illinois Senior Amateur

ABOUT THE Illinois Senior Amateur

Open to senior amateurs who are residents of the state of Illinois. A 54-hole event with the entire field playing 36 holes over the course of two days and the low 30 and ties play the final 18 on the third day.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram