Bryson DeChambeau wins NCAA Medal Championship
2015 NCAA individual champion Bryson DeChambeau<Br>hugging coach Jason Enloe (Tracy Wilcox/Golfweek)
2015 NCAA individual champion Bryson DeChambeau
hugging coach Jason Enloe (Tracy Wilcox/Golfweek)

BRADENTON, Fla. — Southern Methodist junior Bryson DeChambeau captured the NCAA individual title on Monday at The Concession Golf Club — his program's first NCAA Championship medalist honor.

The native of Clovis, Calif. entered the day with a one-shot lead, and held that slim advantage through an up-and-down 71 in the final round. Starting the day on 10, DeChambeau bogeyed 11 and 13, with an eagle thrown in between at 12. He finished off the back nine with a double-bogey, but fought back with a bogey-free 33 on the front.

DeChambeau credited Mustang head coach Jason Enloe with encouraging him through Monday's round. The first-year coach, who graduated from SMU in 1996, walked with DeChambeau for the entirety of his winning round.

"He helped me so much this week," DeChambeau told Golfweek. "He was with me the whole way, kept me positive, kept me confident and kept me trusting."

With the victory, DeChambeau jumped to No. 4 in the Golfweek/AmateurGolf.com World Rankings. (Full rankings results below)

Though DeChambeau finished the 72-hole tournament eight-under, the rest of his Mustangs team struggled, with none of the four other players finishing inside of the top-60. Out of the 15 teams that advanced to Monday's final round, SMU placed 14th, beating out only San Diego State, whose team total of 306 was the worst of the day.

Meanwhile, eight happy teams are heading to the match play portion of the event, beginning Tuesday at The Concession. Illinois ousted Vanderbilt for the top-seed, shooting six-under on the final day for a three-over total. Thomas Detry, the first-round individual leader, tied for third and paced the Fighting Illini to the team medalist honor.

Illinois will be matched up with UCLA in Tuesday morning's quarterfinal match, while Vanderbilt will square off with SEC rival LSU. The Georgia Bulldogs will face tournament-host South Florida in the 3-6 matchup, and rounding out the eight advancing teams are Texas and USC.

Illinois, LSU, and UCLA are the only teams to have made match play in 2014, while Texas secured final-eight spot in 2012 and 2013.

Results: NCAA Division I Championship
1CABryson DeChambeauClovis, CA150070-67-72-71=280
2Chinese TaipeiCheng-Tsung PanChinese Taipei120072-70-72-67=281
T3KYHunter StewartNicholasville, KY90074-69-71-68=282
T3BelgiumThomas DetryBelgium90068-71-73-70=282
5IrelandPaul DunneIreland90072-69-69-73=283

View full results for NCAA Division I Championship

ABOUT THE NCAA Division I Championship

30 teams and 6 individuals not on a qualifying team make up the field for the championship of NCAA Division I women's golf.

After 72 holes of stroke play, the individual champion is crowned, and the low 8 teams advance to match play to determine the team champion.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram