NCGA on pace for Hanna-Wehrman, Staedler-Jetter wins
Cameron Champ
Cameron Champ

ROSEVILLE, Calif. (Oct. 21, 2013) – After the morning session of the NCGA-NCPGA Cup Matches at Morgan Creek GCC the NCGA is on pace to retain the Hanna-Wehrman Cup and get back Staedler-Jetter Cup.

In the Hanna-Wehrman Cup the NCGA has 3-2 to lead winning two matches, losing one and halving the other two. Leading the way in the four-ball matches were the two youngest participants on the NCGA team, 18-year-old Cameron Champ and 20-year-old Austin Roberts, who dominated their four-ball match beating David Solomon and Phillip Dawson 6-and-5. The other team to secure a full point for the NCGA was the duo of Nick Moore and Matt Cohn who beat Marcus Judge and Tom Morton 3-and-1.

Halving their matches were the NCGA teams of Jeff Hoffman and Russell Humphrey, and Randy Haag and Jason Anthony. Hoffman and Humphrey, who went undefeated in 2012 as a team, settled for a half point against PGA professionals David Carr and Jason Schmuhl, while Haag and Anthony earned a half point against the NCPGA team of Mitch Lowe and Wayne Clark.

The only NCGA team to fail to score in four-ball matches happened to be current NCGA Four-Ball Champions Danny Paniccia and Mike Stieler, who lost 4-and-2 to Joe Dolby and Don Winter.

The NCGA Seniors look to take back the Staedler-Jetter Cup, after losing it in 2012 for the first time in more than a decade, taking a 4 ½ to 2 ½ advantage after the morning four-ball session.

Two NCGA teams dominated in their matches, which was countered by two dominating matches by the NCPGA team. The NCGA teams to dominate were Gary Vanier and Terry Foreman, and Jeff Burda and Scott Anderson. Vanier and Foreman won their match in 14 holes, beating Ric Burgess and John Grund 6-and-5 in the first match of the morning, while similarly Jeff Burda and Scott Anderson beat Shawn Kelly and Charlie Gibson in 15 holes, 6-and-4.

The NCPGA teams to dominate were Bob McGrath and Kris Moe, and Shawn McEntee and Mitch Thomas, who each won in 15 holes. McGrath and Moe took down 2012 NCGA Senior Four-Ball Champions, Casey Boyns and Mark Miller 6-and-4, while McEntee and Thomas beat Rob Adolph and three-time NCGA Senior Player of the Year Jim Knoll 5-and-4.

The NCGA duo of Frank Pieper and Herb Jensen edged out Matthew Holm and John Snopkowski, winning by a margin of 1 up. In the two super senior matches the NCGA secured 1 ½ points with Rob Thompson and Greg Saiki beating Raul Quezada and Gerry Greenfield 3-and-2, while Dennis Younglove and Ron Johnson halved their match with Larry Babica and Glen Stubblefield.

The afternoon matches are currently taking place with all play wrapping up around 5:30 p.m. Tomorrow, individual matches in the morning will conclude the 2013 NCGA-NCPGA matches.

View results for Hanna-Wehrman Cup Matches

ABOUT THE Hanna-Wehrman Cup Matches

The Hanna-Wehrman Cup features 10 amateur players representing the NCGA (top players from the previous season’s points list) taking on 10 professional players representing the Northern California PGA in a Ryder Cup-like format.

The first day of play consists of two rounds—one round of four-ball match play (better ball) and one round of foursome match play (alternate shot). The second day of play’s final rounds consist of singles match play.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram