TV SCHEDULE, PREVIEW, DRAWS: 49th Walker Cup at St. Andrews
01 Sep 2023
by Justin Golba of AmateurGolf.com

see also: View results for The Walker Cup, Cypress Point Club, Gordon Sargent Rankings

This weekend, the amateur golf world will descend on The Old Course at St. Andrews, Scotland, for the 49th Walker Cup.

The United States and Great Britain and Ireland have set their 10 players and will face off Sep. 2-3 at the home of golf. The United States won the 48th Walker Cup, held at Seminole Golf Club in Juno, Fla., 14-12 and have won the last three Walker Cups.

Connor Graham from Scotland is the youngest player ever to compete in the Walker Cup.



Nick Dunlap, 19, Huntsville, Alabama
David Ford, 20, Peachtree Corners, Georgia
Nick Gabrelcik, 21, Trinity, Florida
Austin Greaser, 22, Vandalia, Ohio
Stewart Hagestad, 32, Newport Beach, California
Ben James, 20, Milford, Connecticut
Dylan Menante, 22, Carlsbad, California
Gordon Sargent, 20, Birmingham, Alabama
Preston Summerhays, 21, Scottsdale, Arizona
Caleb Surratt, 19, Indian Trail, North Carolina


James Ashfield, 22, Delamere Forest, Wales
Jack Bigham, 19, Harpenden, England
Barclay Brown, 22, Hallamshire, England
John Gough, 24, The Berkshire, England
Connor Graham, 16, Blairgowrie, Scotland
Alex Maguire, 22, Laytown & Bettystown, Ireland
Matthew McClean, 30, Malone, Ireland
Liam Nolan, 23, Galway, Ireland
Mark Power, 23, Kilkenny, Ireland
Calum Scott, 20, Nairn, Scotland

* Day one draw: Saturday Foursomes and Singles
* At Seminole, USA defeats GB&I to claim 48th Walker Cup
* Is the Walker Cup a ticket to the pro golf tours?
* A quick nine with USA Walker Cup captain Mike McCoy


MIKE MCCOY - USA view tournament resume

McCoy Won the 2013 U.S. Mid-Amateur at the age of 50 to become the second-oldest champion in the event's history and was a member of the 2015 USA Walker Cup Team. He has competed in 67 USGA championships, including 20 U.S. Amateurs. He was low amateur in the 2014 and 2015 U.S. Senior Opens and was invited to the 2014 Masters Tournament. He won the 2022 Senior Amateur Championship conducted by The R&A and is an 11-time Iowa Player of the Year. He played collegiately at Wichita State and was briefly a pro before regaining his amateur status and getting into the insurance industry.


Wilson captained the 2021 Great Britain & Ireland Team at Seminole Golf Club, a 14-12 defeat to the USA. He won the 2004 Amateur Championship conducted by The R&A on the Old Course at St. Andrews, defeating Lee Corfield, of England, 4 and 3, in the 36-hole final. Wilson was invited to the 2005 Masters Tournament (missed cut) and Tied for 63rd in 2005 Open Championship at Royal Troon, and won the Silver Medal as low amateur. He missed the cut in the 2001 Open Championship at Royal Lytham & St. Annes in England and posted a 1-1-2 record in helping GB&I win the 2003 Walker Cup at Ganton Golf Club in England. Lone victory came in Saturday foursomes session with countryman David Inglis and halved a singles match on Saturday against Matt Hendrix. Wilson claimed the 2003 Lytham Trophy and represented Great Britain & Ireland in 2001 and 2002 Palmer Cup. He represented Scotland in the 2004 World Amateur Team Championship and captained the European Junior Ryder Cup Teams in 2012 and 2014.


- Two days of foursomes and singles matches
- Four-morning foursomes matches both days
- Eight singles matches on Saturday
- Ten singles matches on Sunday
- One full point is awarded for a victory, with a half-point for matches tied after 18 holes
- USA needs 13 points to retain the Walker Cup after their victory at Seminole in 2022, and GB&I needs 13½ points to reclaim it
- The USA team has won the last three editions of the match, with the last GB&I win coming at Royal Lytham & St Annes in 2015 when they triumphed 16½ to 9½


The United States leads the all-time series, 38-9-1


The Old Course in St Andrews is hosting the Walker Cup for a record ninth time and the first in nearly a half-century. After hosting the second match 100 years ago in 1923, it again played host in 1926, 1934, 1938, 1947, 1955, 1971 and 1975. The last time it was held at the Old Course 48 years ago, the United States of America won 15½–8½ with a team that included reigning Amateur Champion Vinny Giles and future major champions Jerry Pate, Craig Stadler, and Curtis Strange. Back in 1923, it was a closer competition in St Andrews, with the United States of America winning 6–5.


Live coverage of the 49th Walker Cup on Saturday 2 and Sunday 3 September is available on Sky Sports Golf (GB&I), Golf Channel (USA) and The Walker Cup website. The commentary team across the two days of the match includes Brad Faxon, Steve Burkowski, Gary Wolstenholme, Andrew Cotter, Hally Leadbetter and George Harper Jr.

Specific broadcast times for the 2023 Walker Cup for U.S. residents follow. Please note that the matches are also being broadcast on Sky Sports and live streamed at WalkerCup.org

Golf Channel - 8:30 a.m.- 2 p.m. ET

Golf Channel - 8 a.m.- 2 p.m. ET



Bobby Jones, Francis Ouimet, Ken Venturi, Jack Nicklaus, Fred Ridley, Jay Sigel, Corey Pavin, Davis Love III, Phil Mickelson, David Duval, Justin Leonard, Tiger Woods, Brian Harman, Rickie Fowler, Dustin Johnson, Patrick Cantlay, Jordan Spieth, Max Homa, Justin Thomas, Bryson DeChambeau, Collin Morikawa, Scottie Scheffler.


Roger Wethered, Bernard Darwin, Joe Carr, Sir Michael Bonallack, Clive Clark, Peter Oosterhuis, Howard Clark, Mark James, Sandy Lyle, Peter McEvoy, Colin Montgomerie, Padraig Harrington, Paul McGinley, Justin Rose, Nick Dougherty, Luke Donald, Graeme McDowell, Rory McIlroy, Danny Willett, Tommy Fleetwood, Matt Fitzpatrick, Robert MacIntyre.


Since 1924, the Walker Cup has been played as a biennial competition with a hiatus from 1938 to 1947 due to World War II. The match is scheduled to be held in consecutive years in 2025 and 2026 for the first time in over a century to shift from odd-numbered back to even-numbered years. The 50th Walker Cup Match is staged at Cypress Point in California in September 2025.


Listen to our interviews with Captain Mike McCoy and Stewart Hagestad. We also had writer Jordan Perez join the pod for a Walker Cup preview.

View results for The Walker Cup
ABOUT THE The Walker Cup

The Walker Cup Match is a biennial 10-man amateur team competition between the USA and a team composed of players from Great Britain and Ireland and selected by The R&A. It is played over two days with 18 singles matches and eight foursomes (alternate-shot) matches.

The first United States Walker Cup Team, which in 1922 defeated the GB&I side, 8-4, at the National Golf Links of America, is considered among the best teams ever and included Francis Ouimet, Bob Jones, Charles “Chick” Evans and Jess Sweetser. Many of the game’s greatest players have taken part in Walker Cup competition, including U.S. Open champions Jack Nicklaus, Tiger Woods and Jordan Spieth for the USA and Graeme McDowell, Rory McIlroy and Justin Rose for Great Britain and Ireland.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92009

Instagram X Facebook YouTube