2017 NCAA Women's Field Announced
(Golfweek Photo)
(Golfweek Photo)

(April 27, 2017) - Earlier today on Golf Channel's Morning Drive the field for the 2017 NCAA Women's Division I Golf Championship was announced. The field of 72 teams and 24 individuals will compete at four regional sites from May 8-10 with the top-six teams from each site and the top-three individuals not on a qualifying team advancing.

Each site will feature 18 teams and six individuals. This years regional sites include Ohio State University’s Scarlet Course (Columbus, OH), The Rawls Course (Lubbock, TX), the University of Georgia Golf Course (Athens, GA) and the University of New Mexico Championship Course (Albuquerque, NM).

Following the completion of regional play the advancing teams and players will move onto the NCAA Championship being hosted by Rich Harvest Farms from May 19-24 in Sugar Grove, IL.

The selection show started off with the unveiling of the top-seeds in each region; Stanford in the Albuquerque Regional, Alabama in the Athens Regional, Florida in the Columbus Regional and UCLA in the Lubbock Regional.

Stanford, last years runner-up, earned their No. 1 seed after winning three-times during the spring season and finishing third at the Pac-12 Championships. The Cardinals never finished worse then fifth in an event all season. Stanford will be in search of their programs second national title after winning in 2015.

2012 national champion Alabama has won three-times this year, once in the fall and twice in the spring. The Crimson Tide didn't finish worse than sixth all season.

1985 and 1986 national champion Florida won five-times this year including most recently at the SEC Championship. With three wins in their last four events there are few teams playing better than Florida.

UCLA, a three-time national champion, is entering the regionals fresh off a dominating win at the Pac-12 Championships. The Bruins struggled in the fall but rebounded with two wins late in the spring season to finish strong.

Here is a complete look at the field for the NCAA Women's Division I Golf Championship

Athens Regional

University of Georgia Golf Course, Athens, Ga.


No. 1 Alabama
No. 2 Georgia
No. 3 Northwestern
No. 4 Arizona
No. 5 Baylor
No. 6 Wake Forest
No. 7 UCF
No. 8 Tennessee
No. 9 North Carolina
No. 10 Clemson
No. 11 Augusta
No. 12 Auburn
No. 13 Kansas State
No. 14 Michigan State
No. 15 Troy
No. 16 Princeton
No. 17 North Florida
No. 18 Quinnipiac


Chieh Jessica Peng, Mississippi State
Laura Fuenfstueck, College of Charleston
Lisa Pettersson, East Carolina
Vanessa Ha, San Francisco
Alexandra Farnsworth, Vanderbilt
Anna Redding, Virginia

Columbus Regional

Ohio State University Golf Club-Scarlet Course, Columbus, Ohio


No. 1 Florida
No. 2 Florida State
No. 3 South Carolina
No. 4 Arkansas
No. 5 Colorado
No. 6 Texas A&M
No. 7 Purdue
No. 8 Ohio State
No. 9 Michigan
No. 10 San Jose State
No. 11 Houston
No. 12 Louisville
No. 13 Wisconsin
No. 14 Kentucky
No. 15 Old Dominion
No. 16 Delaware
No. 17 Missouri State
No. 18 Cleveland State


Loy Hee Ying, East Tennessee State
Camila Serrano, Florida International
Michaela Fletcher, Memphis
Emma Albrecht, Notre Dame
Kate Smith, Nebraska
Emie Peronnin, Minnesota

Lubbock Regional

The Rawls Course, Lubbock, Texas


No. 1 UCLA
No. 2 Arizona State
No. 3 Furman
No. 4 Kent State
No. 5 Texas
No. 6 Oklahoma
No. 7 BYU
No. 8 San Diego State
No. 9 Texas Tech
No. 10 TCU
No. 11 UNLV
No. 12 Oregon
No. 13 Iowa State
No. 14 Oregon State
No. 15 Murray State
No. 16 Georgetown
No. 17 Richmond
No. 18 Sacred Heart


Caroline Nistrup, LSU
Malene Krolnoll Hansen, Coastal Carolina
Lois Kaye Go, Boston College
Alivia Brown, Washington State
Jakeishya Le, UC Riverside
Katrina Prendergast, Colorado State

Albuquerque Regional

UNM Championship Course, Albuquerque, NM


No. 1 Stanford
No. 2 USC
No. 3 Duke
No. 4 Miami
No. 5 Oklahoma State
No. 6 N.C. State
No. 7 Cal
No. 8 Illinois
No. 9 Pepperdine
No. 10 Washington
No. 11 SMU
No. 12 Campbell
No. 13 Denver
No. 14 New Mexico State
No. 15 Cal Poly
No. 16 Sacramento State
No. 17 Houston Baptist
No. 18 Texas Southern


Martina Edberg, Cal State-Fullerton
Bianca Pagdanganan, Gonzaga
Jess Yuen, Missouri
Gudrun Bjorgvinsfottir, Fresno State
Paige Lee, UC Davis
Kristin Le, Santa Clara

-Golfweek contributed to this story

ABOUT THE NCAA Division I Women's Championship

24 teams and 12 individuals not on a qualifying team make up the field for the championship of NCAA Division I women's golf.

After 72 holes of stroke play, the individual champion is crowned, and the low 8 teams advance to match play to determine the team champion.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram