LSU's Ingrid Lindblad wins the 2024 ANNIKA Award
Ingrid Lindblad (LSU Athletics Photo)
Ingrid Lindblad (LSU Athletics Photo)

Ingrid Lindblad has grown up playing in Annika Sorenstam’s junior events, then transitioned to Sorenstam’s college events, and now, her name is forever tied with the legend.

On Tuesday, Lindblad was named winner of the 2024 Annika Award presented by Stifel, given to the best female golfer in college golf. Lindblad is the first Annika Award winner from LSU and also the first Annika Award winner from Sweden, which is where the award’s namesake is from.

“I’m so happy,” Lindblad said. “I feel like I’ve worked hard for this. This was one of the reasons I came back for my fifth year.”

Lindblad had had yet another stellar season for the Tigers, winning four times, including the NCAA Bryan Regional. She has set a record for most wins in LSU history (15) and caps her career with women’s college golf’s highest honor.

“I’ve probably thought more about this award the last two weeks than the whole year,” Lindblad said.

Lindblad is ranked No. 1 in the Golfweek/AmateurGolf.com Women's Rankings and she’s on her way to being a five-time first-team All-American for the Tigers. She is one of the greatest collegiate golfers of all time and the best in the history of the Southeastern Conference, setting records for career scoring average, wins, and plenty more.

Lindblad marks the end of a run for Stanford players, capturing the Annika Award. Rose Zhang won her second consecutive honor last season, and in 2021, it was Rachel Heck taking home honors.

It was a record vote for the 2024 Annika Award, with the most votes in the award’s history. More importantly, it was also a record for the number of players casting a vote.

The winner of the Annika Award is selected by college golfers, coaches and members of the college golf media and has been handed out annually since the 2014 season.

Story by Cameron Jourdan of Golfweek


Created in 2014, the ANNIKA Award presented by Stifel is annually given to the top female U.S. collegiate golfer; the winner voted on by college golfers, coaches and members of the golf media. Named for and presented by Annika Sorenstam, the award was created in partnership with the Haskins Foundation and ANNIKA Foundation to acknowledge the top female golfer at the end of the season and to match the Haskins Award presented by Stifel, which acknowledges the top male Division I collegiate golfer.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92009

Instagram X Facebook YouTube