Crosby to take another turn as U.S. Walker Cup captain in 2021
USGA/Simon Dale photo
USGA/Simon Dale photo

With captain Nathaniel Crosby in the lead last month, the U.S. Walker Cup authored a dramatic comeback at Royal Liverpool in Hoylake, England. Now, Crosby is lined up for a second captaincy for the 2021 matches to be played at Seminole Golf Club in Juno Beach, Fla.

Winner of the 1981 U.S. Amateur Championship, Crosby, 57, was the low amateur in the 1982 U.S. Open Championship. He was also a member of victorious USA teams in both the 1983 Walker Cup Match and the 1982 World Amateur Team Championship.

“The 2019 Walker Cup experience was an unbelievable journey from start to finish, and I am honored to be allowed to once again guide an outstanding group of young men in 2021,” said Crosby. “As a member of the 1983 Walker Cup Team, I formed bonds and created friendships that have lasted a lifetime. I hope that I have left this year’s players with that same sense of excitement and honor, and I look forward to passing it on to our next group of players.”

The 48th Walker Cup Match is scheduled for May 8-9, 2021. It will mark the first time that the biennial team competition between 10 amateur players representing the United States and 10 amateur players representing Great Britain and Ireland will be held in the spring on U.S. soil.

“Nathaniel’s previous Walker Cup experience and guidance proved to be the right mix to lead the 2019 team to victory,” said Stuart Francis, USGA Championship Committee chairman. “Our players experienced life lessons from a true gentleman and competitor and we are excited to have him lead the team again at Seminole.”

Quotes and information from the USGA used in this report

View results for The Walker Cup
ABOUT THE The Walker Cup

The Walker Cup Match is a biennial 10-man amateur team competition between the USA and a team composed of players from Great Britain and Ireland and selected by The R&A. It is played over two days with 18 singles matches and eight foursomes (alternate-shot) matches.

The first United States Walker Cup Team, which in 1922 defeated the GB&I side, 8-4, at the National Golf Links of America, is considered among the best teams ever and included Francis Ouimet, Bob Jones, Charles “Chick” Evans and Jess Sweetser. Many of the game’s greatest players have taken part in Walker Cup competition, including U.S. Open champions Jack Nicklaus, Tiger Woods and Jordan Spieth for the USA and Graeme McDowell, Rory McIlroy and Justin Rose for Great Britain and Ireland.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92009

Instagram X Facebook YouTube