For its 50th year, Haskins Award unveils new-look watch list
The Haskins Award celebrates its 50th year as college golf heads into a season of uncertainty given the effects of the COVID-19 pandemic on college sports.

With some colleges starting competition this fall and others waiting until the spring, the list has been modified to reflect that reality. The watch list is actually two lists in one, with those able to compete this fall in one list and those having to wait until the spring to play in another.

The list is as stacked as it has ever been (it includes the top four in the Golfweek/AmateurGolf.com World Amateur Ranking), with two major forces at play.

First, with COVID-19 halting last year's college season, the NCAA granted players an additional year of eligibility, which several players who would have graduated have since taken advantage of. Second, this season will be the first played since the introduction of the PGA Tour University ranking, which will send five seniors directly to the Korn Ferry Tour after the college season ends.

Players from colleges playing this fall

Ludvig Aberg, Soph., Texas Tech
John Augenstein, Sr., Vanderbilt
Ricky Castillo, Soph., Florida
Canon Claycomb, Soph., Alabama
Pierceson Coody, Jr., Texas
Quade Cummins, Sr., Oklahoma
Cooper Dossey, Sr., Baylor
Austin Eckroat, Sr., Oklahoma State
Wilson Furr, Sr., Alabama
Cole Hammer, Jr., Texas
Walker Lee, Sr., Texas A&M
William Mouw, Soph., Pepperdine
Joe Pagdin, Fr., Florida
Trent Phillips, Sr., Georgia
Garett Reband, Sr., Oklahoma
Jovan Rebula, Sr., Auburn
Sandy Scott, Sr., Texas Tech
Davis Thompson, Sr., Georgia
Travis Vick, Soph., Texas
Trey Winstead, Sr., LSU

Players from colleges playing until the spring

Noah Goodwin, Sr., SMU
Yuxin Lin, Soph., USC
McClure Meissner, Sr., SMU
John Pak, Sr., Florida State
Mark Power, Soph., Wake Forest
Matthias Schmid, Sr., Louisville
Cameron Sisk, Jr., Arizona State
Tyler Strafaci, Sr., Georgia Tech
Karl Vilips, Fr., Stanford
Chun An Yu, Sr., Arizona State

The 2020 Haskins Ward winner was Sahith Theegala of Pepperdine.

Celebrating its 50th year, the Fred Haskins Award presented by Stifel, has been given to players who have captured 31 major championships and more than 400 professional tournaments around the world. Past recipients include Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson, Ben Crenshaw, and Justin Thomas. The Fred Haskins Award is the oldest individual college golf award and the only award to be voted on by players, coaches, golf SID's, and select golf media.

ABOUT THE Haskins Award

Since 1971, the Haskins Award honors the most outstanding male college golfer each year. It is named in memory of Fred Haskins, former golf teaching professional at the Country Club of Columbus (Georgia) who devoted his life to nurturing and mentoring amateur players.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92009

Instagram X Facebook YouTube