Breezy Day One at the Temple Cup Senior
06 Apr 2006
see also: Senior Temple Cup Golf Tournament, Crown Colony Country Club


LUFKIN, TX (April 6, 2006)--A breezy day saw many of the scores soaring at the Temple Cup Senior on Thursday, but a handful of teams were able to solve the winds and the difficult Crown Colony Country Club course, led by Henry Cole and Van Stewart, who opened with a 6-under 66.

Sitting one shot back are the teams of William Sumner/Gary Kirwan and Steve Earsley/Mike Rice. Rice, the reigning U.S. Senior Amateur champion, won this event with Bob Hullender in 1997 and 1999.

Four-time champions Larry Thomas and Chip Stewart (2000-2003) shot a 68 to tie for fourth with the team of David Moore and Steve Bueltel. No other team was able to break 70, and only 11 of the 50 teams were able to break par for the round.

Among other past champions, Charles Hill, Jr./Bob Sine (2005) shot a 73 to sit tied for 14th, and Todd Lusk/Andy Wall (2004) shot a 74 to sit tied for 18th.

Once again, Crown Colony is proving to be a worthy championship test. Crown Colony has long been one of the highest-rated courses in the state of Texas, and has an impressive championship pedigree. In addition to annually hosting the Temple Cup and Temple Cup Senior, Crown Colony was the site of the Southern Amateur in 1987 and 2001, and the Texas State Amateur in 1982 and 1998.

The 54-hole, best-ball tournament resumes with the second round on Friday.

First-round results from the Temple Cup Senior, played at Crown Colony Country Club in Lufkin, TX, April 6-8, 2006:

1 Henry Cole Van Stewart 66
T2 Steve Earsley Mike Rice 67
T2 William Sumner Gary Kirwan 67
T4 Larry Thomas Chip Stewart 68
T4 David Moore Steve Bueltel 68
6 Ford Cartwright Mike Hopson 70
T7 Henry Ellis Jerry Gatti 71
T7 Gary Seaman Don Seaman 71
T7 John Goode John Pigg 71
T7 Bob Abbott Jim Martin 71
T7 Dan Alpha Doug Baker 71
T12 Bob Boeger Ralph Foltz 72
T12 Dakin Cramer Corky Nelson 72
T14 Bob Vidricksen Frank Roth 73
T14 Carey Schulten Curt Wagner 73
T14 Richard Cozby Mike O'Brien 73
T14 Charles Hill, Jr. Bob Sine 73
T18 Howard Knowles Bert Rogers 74
T18 Rex Covert Rick Rogers 74
T18 Pat Trowbridge Ed Heffern 74
T18 Joe Cadle Tom Miller 74
T18 Carl Ahrens Tommy Cruse 74
T18 Harvey McCraw Mike Atnip 74
T18 Jim Pope Kent Herndon 74
T18 Andy Wall Todd Lusk 74
T26 Bill Davis Skip Warren 75
T26 Richard Mosman Bob Mosman 75
T26 Mike Morgan Johnson Ramsey 75
T26 Bill Wiley Jerry Hudgins 75
T30 Joe Battson Robert Scardino 76
T30 Bill Rogers George Hunter 76
T30 John Steineker Jim Thigpen 76
T30 Larry Augsburger Henry Hair 76
T30 Mike Busch Wes Duperier 76
T35 Buddy Hurst Pat Hodges 77
T35 Max Haney Bill Slaughter 77
T35 Tripp Owen Joel Broussard 77
T35 Bob Twaddell Terry Bigham 77
T35 Gene Ross Bob Duboise 77
T40 Frank Pickens Bob Bishop 78
T40 Jay Gasper Bob Wands 78
T40 W. Dick Davis Don Addington 78
T40 Bobby Gray Rod Simmons 78
T40 Mace Brindley Scott Jones 78
T45 John McDonald Jim Rath 79
T45 Dick Martin Fred Hansen 79
T45 Craig Carlisle Ron Montgomery 79
48 B.J. Shaw Gary Mellema 80
49 Jack Bailey Mike Arrington 81
50 Norman Brady Don Campbell 95

ABOUT THE Senior Temple Cup

A popular 54-hole four ball invitational played on one of the best courses in Texas. The Temple Cup Senior originated from the Temple Cup, with the first playing in 1989. The tournament honors Arthur Temple, a highly successful businessman in the timber and paper goods industry, whose vision resulted in the creation of Crown Colony Country Club. Senior and Super Senior divisions.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube