Iowa Four-Ball: Collegiate rivals prevail
26 May 2013
see also: Iowa Four-Ball Championship, Veenker Memorial Golf Course

PELLA, Iowa (May 26, 2013) -- Two Big 12 rivals teamed up to win the 18th IGA Four-Ball Championship on Saturday. Ben Juffer, who just finished his college career at Kansas State, and Blake Waller, who recently completed his sophomore season at Iowa State, defeated Bret Taylor and J.D. Anderson on the first playoff hole at The Ridge Golf Club in Sioux Center to win the title.

In the Senior Division Tom Schill and David Studer built on the opening round 66 with a final round 68 to finish at 8-under 134. That total was good enough for a one-stroke win over Jim Curell and Dan Naughton who posted a final round 66.

Juffer and Waller opened with a 3-under 68 on Friday and then posted a 4-under 67 on Saturday to finish at 7-under 135. Taylor and Anderson’s scores were reversed, posting a 67 on Friday and a 68 on Saturday. This was the second straight year Anderson & Taylor were defeated in a playoff, losing to Mike McCoy and Gene Elliott in 2012.

Drake teammates Dane Worley and Blake Huser shot the tournament’s lowest round, posting a 6-under 65 on Saturday to finish alone in third and one stroke out of the playoff. Bob Brummel and Todd Sapp and the team of Sam Aossey and Gary Rozek tied for third in the Senior Division.

The 18th playing of the IGA Four-Ball Championship took place on Friday and Saturday, May 24th and 25th at The Ridge Golf Club in Sioux Center. The Ridge was named 18-hole golf course of the year by the IGA in 2012.

ABOUT THE Iowa Four-Ball

36-hole four-ball stroke play championship with Open and Senior (50+) divisions. Must be a member of an IGA Member Club.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube