Australian Women's Am: Lydia Ko falls
Lydia Ko
Lydia Ko

SOUTH OAKLEY, VICTORIA, Australia (Jan. 18, 2013) -- Metropolitan Golf Club member Jo Charlton caused the biggest upset of Australian Women’s Amateur Championship so far, upstaging World Number 1 Kiwi Lydia Ko with a 2&1 victory at Commonwealth Golf Club in Melbourne.

The win takes Charlton through to the quarter finals where she’ll be joined by Jenny Lee (SA), Hannah Green (WA), Julienne Soo (VIC), Minjee Lee (WA) and internationals Julianne Alvarez (NZ), Kotone Hori (JPN) and Ji-Hyun Oh (KOR). Hori defeated four-time US Mid-Amateur champion Meghan Stasi 3&2 while Minjee Lee came through in a tough battle with Cathleen Santoso which ended on the 19th hole.

Quarter Finals:

Jenny Lee (SA) v Julianne Alvarez (NZ)

Hannah Green (WA) v Jo Charlton (VIC)

Minjee Lee (WA) v Kotone Hori (JPN)

Ji-Hyun Oh (KOR) v Julienne Soo (VIC)

Results For Australian Women's Amateur Championship
WinAustraliaMinjee LeeAustralia1000
Runner-upAustraliaJenny LeeAustralia700
SemifinalsAustraliaJulienne SooAustralia500
SemifinalsAustraliaHannah GreenAustralia500
QuarterfinalsKoreaJi-Hyun OhKorea400

View full results for Australian Women's Amateur Championship

ABOUT THE Australian Women's Amateur

The Australian Women's Amateur Championship is contested over 36-holes stroke play qualifying, with the leading 32 players progressing to elimination match play. It is open to players of all ages with an initial field size of 72 players.

It was first played in 1894 and past winners include touring professionals Nikki Campbell, Sarah Oh and Kristie Smith.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube