PNGA Announces Players of the Year
30 Nov 2005

Bellevue, WA – In an effort to recognize exceptional individual performances this year in regional amateur golf, the Pacific Northwest Golf Association recently announced the winners of their 2005 Player of the Year awards.

The Player of the Year candidates are nominated by the various state and provincial golf associations that comprise the PNGA (Alaska, Alberta, British Columbia, Idaho, Montana, Oregon, and Washington), and are selected by a vote of the PNGA Championship Committee and members of the Northwest Golf Media Association.

Awards are given in six different categories: Men’s, Women’s, Senior Men’s, Senior Women’s, Junior Boys’, and Junior Girls’.The awards will be officially presented at the PNGA’s annual meeting next spring.

Winners in each category, their accomplishments, as well as other nominees follow:

MEN: James Lepp (BCGA)

2005 NCAA Champion
2005 BC Amateur Champion (4th consecutive win)
2005 USGA US Amateur Qualifying Medalist
2005 RCGA and BCGA Order of Merit Winner
2005 Copa de Las Americas Winner (Repeat winner with Richard Scott)
2005 First Team All American

Other Nominees: Adam Hagen, Greg LaVoie, James Love, Joe Panzeri, Nick Becker, Ryan Moore

WOMEN: Paige Mackenzie (WSGA)

2005 Trans-National Amateur Champion
2005 US Women’s Open – T13th
2005 North and South Amateur - Semifinalist
2005 NCAA Championship – 10th
2005 US Amateur – Round of 32
2005 PNGA Amateur – Runner-up
2005 PNGA Amateur – Qualifying Medalist

Other Nominees: Meaghan Leblanc, Kali Quick


2005 PNGA Senior Amateur Champion
2005 Senior Masters – 5th
2005 PNGA Amateur – Round of 32
2005 USGA Mid-Am Sectional – Qualifying Medalist
2005 PNGA Senior Public Links – Runner-up
2005 PNWPGA Senior Players’ Championship -3rd
2005 USGA Senior Amateur Qualifier

Other Nominees: Chris Maletis, Howard Broun, Al Dowdell

SENIOR WOMEN: Alison Murdoch (BCGA)

2005 Canadian Women's Senior Champion
2005 BC Women's Senior Champion
2005 PNGA Senior Women's Champion
2005 Irish Senior Ladies Champion

Other Nominees: Diane Williams, Ginny Burkey, Mary Budke

JUNIOR BOY: Mitchell Fox (AGA)

2005 Canadian Junior Champion
2005 Alberta Junior Champion
2005 Alberta Masters Champion
2005 Canadian Amateur Semi Finalist

Other Nominees: Eugene Wong, Josh Hedge, Andrew Funk, Andrew Yun, Sean Jedrusiak

JUNIOR GIRL: Rebecca Kim (OGA)

2005 LPGA Safeway Classic – Qaulified for Championship
2005 Oregon 4A High School Champion
2005 OGA State Junior Match Play – Medalist
2005 OGA State Junior Match Play Champion
2005 OGA Tournament of Champions – 2nd
2005 Girl’s Junior America’s Cup – 21st
Numerous OGA Junior Titles during 2005 season

Other Nominees: Lindsay Caljuow, Bari Lynne Erais, Juanita Rico, Kelly Amndrud, Lauren Archer, Beth

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube