Texas (TGA) State Club Team: Hollytree CC wins by 2

MARBLE FALLS, TX (October 23, 2005)--The team of Darin Newhouse, Reggie Howell, and Paul Manziel from Hollytree Country Club in Tyler shot a final round 157 to edge past Walnut Creek Country Club from Mansfield and claim the 2005 TGA State Club Team Championship. Darin Newhouse had a 76 and Paul Manziel an 81 for Hollytree’s 157 score, giving the team a two day total of 311. In round one it was Manziel with a 75 and Howell with a 79, as the lowest two scores make up the team total each day using the USGA State Team Championship format.

Walnut Creek was led by Bob Neal who had a final round 78, and Doug-Hopton Jones who had an 83 for a 161 total. Walnut Creek led after round one, but the second round 161 left them two shots behind Hollytree at 313. Golfcrest Country Club in Pearland finished third with a 315 total.

The Apple Rock Course at Horseshoe Bay proved very challenging for some of the state’s top amateur players. Very windy conditions in the final round, along with firm greens, helped keep the overall scoring average above 80 for the second straight day.
ABOUT THE Texas State Club Team

UPDATE: In 2005, after an 8-year hiatus, the Texas Golf Association brought back the State Club Team Championship as a way for member clubs to get together and enjoy the spirit of camaraderie and competition.

However, the championship failed to attract much interest among member clubs and players over the ensuing years, despite continued enhancements to the event.

The TGA has surveyed many players to get their opinion and assessment for the low participation rate and have found that there are multiple areas of concerns: number of players per team, championship format, date, and host site.

After an internal review, the TGA has elected to suspend the State Club Team Championship in 2013, allowing time to discuss possible solutions and recommendations for its future.

Eligibility: Clubs / Courses that are members of the Texas Golf Association in good standing may enter (1) one team per facility. If by the priority date, the field is not full, clubs with more than one distinct 18 hole course, may enter (1) additional team per 18 hole course. Club / Course is responsible for selecting a three (3) player team to represent them. Each member of the team must be a male amateur golfer who is 25 years old by the first round of the championship. Have a handicap of 8.4 or less and be a permanent resident of Texas. Semi-private, resort, and public courses may only enter players that maintain a USGA Handicap at that facility. Please reference “TGA State Championship Eligibility” on www.txga.org for further eligibility details.

Format: 36 hole competition using USGA State Team Championship format. Each player will post an 18 hole score, and the team score for each round will be the two (2) lowest scores of the three players.

Field limit: 30 teams

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube