Bearrie, Hickman eye 2nd straight Texas Four-Ball
LUFKIN, Texas (May 15, 2012) -- The 2012 State Four-Ball, conducted by the Texas Golf Association, is scheduled to be played Friday, May 18, through Sunday, May 20, at Crown Colony Country Club in Lufkin.

The format for the championship is 54 hole four-ball stroke play (better-ball of partners).

Headed by defending champions John Bearrie, of Arlington, and Aaron Hickman, of Tyler, this year’s starting field also includes 2011 runners-up Trevor Hyde, of Kerrville, and David Pocknall, of Katy, and 2010 champions Rob Couture and Dru Fenimore, both of Dallas.

Starting times for the first two rounds are posted on the Texas Golf Association’s web site (txga.org). Live scoring updates and daily recaps will be available once the action gets under way.

Opened in 1978, Crown Colony was designed by Bruce Devlin and Robert Von Hagge. The club has proven to be an ideal championship venue over the years, a fact borne out by its having been the site of the 1982 and 1998 Texas Amateur, the 1997, 1999 and 2008 State Father-Son, as well as the annual Temple Cup and Senior Temple Cup.

ABOUT THE Texas Four-Ball

Eligibility: Entries are open to male amateur golfers age 25 or older as of the first round of tournament play, with a certified USGA Handicap Index of 8.4 or less. Please reference “TGA State Championship Eligibility” at www.txga.org for additional eligibility details.

Format: Scheduled for 54 holes of Four–Ball Stroke Play.

The field is limited to 80 teams, as outlined below:
Championship: 25 & Over (48 teams)
Senior: 55 & Over (20 teams)
Super Senior: 65 & Over (12 teams)

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube