Six tied for lead at the Southern Amateur

PALM HARBOR, FL -- An international logjam of six players, including a trio of California collegians, tied for the first-round lead Wednesday in the 105th Southern Amateur at Innisbrook Resort. Among the leading group at 4-under-par 67 is UCLA junior Gregor Main, who won this tournament two years ago in Memphis.

Main, 22, canned a 10-foot birdie putt on the difficult final hole to join the leaders, two of whom are from college rivals Southern Cal and Stanford. “There’s something about this tournament that seems to make me play good,” said Main. “My game feels really good and it would be great to win the Southern Am twice.”

Also off to a 67 start are Stanford junior Andrew Yun, who recently led the U.S. team to Palmer Cup victory by winning all four of his matches; Southern Cal-bound teen Anthony Paolucci from Rancho Santa Fe, CA; Patrick Rodgers of Avon, IN; Hunter Hamrick, two-time Alabama am champ from Montgomery; and Cheng Tsung Pan from Taiwan.

The Southern Amateur field, which includes players from 25 states and 11 foreign countries, will be cut to the low 66 and ties after Thursday’s second round. The storied event concludes Saturday, the champion earning an automatic invitation to play in the PGA Tour Arnold Palmer Invitational next spring in Orlando.

Results For Southern Amateur Golf Championship
1GAHarris EnglishThomasville, GA100069-68-73-65--275
T2ALBobby WyattMobile, AL70070-72-70-66--278
T2MARichy WerenskiSouth Hadley, MA70068-71-68-71--278
T2AustraliaTarquin MacManusAustralia70073-67-66-72--278
5FLBlayne BarberLake City, FL50071-72-69-67--279

View full results for Southern Amateur Golf Championship

ABOUT THE Southern Amateur

The Southern Amateur, which dates back to 1902, is one of two competitions held by the Southern Golf Association. (The other is the Southern Junior.) Its champions roster is like a who’s who’s of competitive golf. (And the same could be said of the standing of its host clubs.) Leading this group is Robert T. (Bobby) Jones, Jr., who was the Southern Amateur Champion in 1917, 1920, and 1922. Others who have won or finished in a challenging position and gone on to national and/or international prominence include Tommy Barnes, Dale Morey, Don January, Gay Brewer, Doug Sanders, Billy Joe Patton, Lew Oehmig, Hubert Green, Downing Gray, Marvin (Vinny) Giles, Lanny Wadkins, Steve Melnyk, Tom Kite, John Mahaffey, Ben Crenshaw, Gary Koch, Bill Rogers, Gil Morgan, Danny Edwards, Andy Bean, Vance Haefner, Jerry Pate, Chip Beck, David Edwards, Jay Sigel, Bob Tway, Mark Brooks, Gene Sauers, Davis Love, Justin Leonard and more recently PGA Tour standouts Webb Simpson and Kyle Stanley, who won twice each between 2005 and 2008 in alternate years.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube