Quarterfinals set at Australian Match Play

Former Australian Men’s Stroke Play champion Bryden Macpherson (VIC) produced one of the championship upsets, defeating newly crowned Srixon Australian Men’s Stroke Play champion Cameron Smith in the second round of the Srixon Australian Amateur Championship at Victoria Golf Club in Melbourne.

In a high quality match, it was only Smith’s drive which found the fairway bunker on the 18th hole that undid his efforts and Macpherson birdied the hole to clinch a spot in the quarter finals.

Macpherson defeated Singapore’s Zhiqun Lam in the morning in another close battle, also winning 1up.

Stroke Play runner up David Coupland (ENG) continued his good form and defeated South Australia’s Tom Bond 3&1 in the morning before defeating Victorian Geoff Drakeford 3&2 in the afternoon.

New Zealand’s Ben Campbell, who finished third in the Stroke Play, defeated Queensland’s Neville Hogan (4&3) and Riversdale Cup champion Nathan Holman (3&2) to progress to the quarter finals.

Tasmanian Open champion Matt Stieger won both his matches, defeating New Zealand’s Vaughan McCall 5&4 in the afternoon.

South Australia’s Brad Moules and New Zealand pair Ryan Fox and Matthew Perry were among the other players to make it through to Tuesday.

Men’s Quarter Finals:

Bryden Macpherson (VIC) v Matthew Perry (NZ)Matthew Stieger (NSW) v Tim Hart (QLD)David Coupland (ENG) v Ryan Fox (NZ)Ben Campbell (NZ) v Brad Moules (SA)

Srixon Australian Women’s Amateur Championship


New Zealand pair Lydia Ko and Cecilia Cho, who fought out the play-off for the Srixon Australian Women’s Stroke Play title, progressed to the quarter finals of the Srixon Australian Amateur Championship today.

Ko defeated South Australia’s Emma Ash (3&1) and NSW’s Carly Beck by the same score to make her way into the last eight.

She will play Tasmania’s Ashlee Dewhurst while Cho will play South Australia’s Ebony Heard.

National Squad members Jessica Speechley and Minjee Lee both made it into the quarter finals and Speechley will play Cathleen Santoso (NSW) who had an excellent 6&5 win over Korean Jessica Park.

Lee will play Melbourne-based Korean Su-Hyun Oh in the first of the quarter finals.

Women’s Quarter Finals:

Su-Hyun Oh (KOR) v Minjee Lee (WA)Cecilia Cho (NZ) v Ebony Heard (SA)Cathleen Santoso (NSW) v Jessica Speechley (WA)Ashlee Dewhurst (TAS) v Lydia Ko (NZ)

Results For Australian Men's Amateur Championship
WinAustraliaMatthew StiegerAustralia1000
Runner-upNew ZealandBen CampbellNew Zealand700
SemifinalsAustraliaBryden MacphersonAustralia500
SemifinalsNew ZealandRyan FoxNew Zealand500
QuarterfinalsNew ZealandMathew PerryNew Zealand300

View full results for Australian Men's Amateur Championship

ABOUT THE Australian Men's Amateur

The Australian Men's and Women's Amateur Championships are Australia's oldest Amateur Golf Championships, with both having been played since 1894.

Players contest 36-holes stroke play qualifying, with the leading 64 men qualifying for elimination match play. The initial field size is 216 men.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube