Co-Champs at Massachusetts Four-Ball

SEEKONK, MA (May 5, 2009)--Co-champions were crowned at the 2009 Massachusetts Four-Ball Championship this afternoon after persistent downpours in Southeastern Massachusetts forced the cancellation of the second round of play.

As a result of the decision to shorten the 36-hole event to just the 18 holes played on Monday, the low scorers from each of the two courses - Ledgemont Country Club and Crestwood Country Club - were declared winners of the event.

Therefore, Ryan Riley (Norton CC) and Herbert Aikens (Pinehills GC) - who posted an 8-under par 63 at Crestwood Country Club on Monday - have earned the right to raise the championship trophy high in the air alongside Sean Fitzpatrick (George Wright GC) and Paul Mitchell (George Wright GC), who came through with a 6-under par 65 at Ledgemont Country Club.

The decision was made due to the fact that the field completed the first round of the event on two separate courses. It was therefore impossible to declare an outright solo champion since half of the field competed at Ledgemont Country Club and the other half at Crestwood Country Club.

View results for Massachusetts Four-Ball Golf Championship

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011