Texas South Regional Four-Ball: Final Results
22 Feb 2009
see also: Texas South Four-Ball Championship, Teravista Golf Club


MISSOURI CITY, Texas (Feb. 22, 2009)--It was a chilly start to the 2nd round of this year’s South Four-Ball Championship at Sienna Plantation but the team of Tim Thompson and James Dalthorp III heated things up, firing an impressive 4-under par 68 to add to their 8-under par 64 and taking the home the championship medals. The road to victory wasn’t easy as they were fighting off the team of Pat Youngs and John Pierce all afternoon. The two teams turned to the final nine holes dead locked at 10-under par for the tournament, but in the end it was the team of Thompson and Dalthorp that stood victorious. First round leaders Blanton Hansen and Andy Hydorn shot an even-par 72 to finish in third place outright.

Enjoying each others company, the teams of Sandy McCall and Dave Bozeman and Mike Arnold and Chip Puhl decided to play an extra hole as both teams finished tied at 3-under par forcing a sudden death playoff which lasted one hole as McCall and Bozeman hit tight second shots on the 384 yard par-4 10th hole sealing the victory.

Format for the event was 36-holes of four-ball stroke play, with an Open and Senior division. To be eligible for the Senior division both players must be at least 55 years of age or older as of the tournament start date. The Senior division played a separate set of tees and competed solely against the other Senior teams and therefore were not eligible for the overall tournament championship.

ABOUT THE Texas South Four-Ball

Eligibility: Entries are open to male amateur golfers residing in the South Texas region (both players must reside in south region) as defined by the Texas PGA Sections (South of 31 degree parallel, Salado TX and south is break point). Applicants must have a certified USGA Handicap Index of 10.0 or less. Please reference “TGA Regional Tournament Eligibility” on www.txga.org for additional eligibility details.

Format: 36 holes of Four-Ball Stroke Play, with a Champion and Senior division.

Field limit: 40 teams

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube