Florida 4-Ball: Forbess, Kennedy take win

JACKSONVILLE, Fla. (July 13, 2008)--The team of Major Forbess and Chris Kennedy made birdie on the infamous 17th hole to clinch the 59th Florida State Four-Ball Championship at TPC Sawgrass on July 12-13.

Major Forbess, of Jacksonville, and Chris Kennedy, from Bradenton, posted a tournament total of 11-under par 133 to win the 2008 Championship.

After a first round 67 on Dye’s Valley Course, the duo trailed the leading team by five strokes.

Playing THE PLAYER’S Stadium Course in the final round, Forbess and Kennedy made seven birdies en route to carding a 32-34 for the low round of the day. Forbess drained a 40-foot birdie putt on the par 3, 137 yard 17th hole to secure the title by one stroke.

Kennedy was last year’s Match Play runner up and finished in the top ten in this year’s Amateur Championship.

Two teams shared second place honors including first round leaders Jonas DeWitte and Jason Guptill. DeWitte, of West Melbourne, and Guptill, from Rockledge, led after a first round 62 and finished with a 72 for a tie for second. Joe Tumlin, from Lithia, and Garrett Morrison, from Orlando, also finished with a tournament total of 134 recording a 65-69 for the two rounds. Morrison placed second in this year’s Amateur Championship.

--Courtesy FSGA

ABOUT THE Florida Four-Ball

Since 1963, teams of two play in the Four-Ball Championship of 36 holes of stroke play. Non exempt teams must first qualify at one of nine sites across the state. Entrants must both be members of the FSGA.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube