Trans-Miss Am: McCoy Wins Second Title
13 Jul 2008
see also: Prairie Dunes Country Club


DES MOINES, Iowa (July 13, 2008)--Mike McCoy and Byron Shumate both cruised through the stroke play portion of the 105th Trans-Mississippi Championship, held at the Wakonda Club in West Des Moines, as well as the latter portions of the match play bracket.

McCoy, a local golfer who was the 2000 Trans-Miss champ, was the co-medalist, and cruised through match play until the Round of 16 and the quarterfinals, where he met another pair of local golfers in JD Anderson and Gene Elliott.

He was able to prevail 1-up and 2 & 1, his closest matches of the tourney.

Shumate, of Fort Smith, Ark., topped another Forth Smith golfer in Mark Graham 5 & 3 to make it into the finals.

He had some dicey situations early in match play, prevailing 1-up over Neal Barfield in the first round, in 19-holes over Tommy Brennan in the second round and in 20 holes over Gary Young in the third round.

The pair squared off Sunday in the 18-hole final, with McCoy taking the title by a margin of 5 & 4.

* * *

amateurgolf.com Note: Mike McCoy has been a member of amateurgolf.com since 2006. In addition to his two Trans-Miss titles, he has won the prestigious Crump Cup at Pine Valley in New Jersey three times since 2004.

Results For Trans-Mississippi Championship Golf Tournament
Place  Pts
WinIAMike McCoyW. Des Moines, IA400
Runner-upARBryon ShumateFort Smith, AR300
SemifinalsFLMichael BarbosaSt. Petersburg, FL200
SemifinalsARMark GrahamFt. Smith, AR200
QuarterfinalsMNTim AndersenMinnetonka, MN100

View full results for Trans-Mississippi Championship Golf Tournament

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011