Trans-Mississippi Championship: Brown is tops

MINNEAPOLIS, Minn. (July 15, 2007)-- It took 20 holes, but Trent Brown was able to top Jim Lehman to win the prestigous Trans-Mississippi title in the 104th running of the event.

Earlier in the tournament, Lehman knocked off defending champion Robert Funk 2 & 1 to advance to quarterfinal play.

Results For Trans-Mississippi Championship
WinAZTrent BrownScottsdale, AZ400
Runner-upMNJim LehmanMinneapolis, MN300
SemifinalsMNPhillip EbnerEdina, MN200
SemifinalsIAGene ElliottW. Des Moines, IA200
QuarterfinalsCADan SullivanPasadena, CA100

View full results for Trans-Mississippi Championship

ABOUT THE Trans-Miss Championship

The Trans-Miss is one of the oldest and most storied golf tournaments in the United States. For 106 years the championship was played in a match play format. Past champions include Jack Nicklaus (1958 and 1959), Charles Coe (1947, 1949, 1952 and 1956), Deane Beman (1960), George Archer (1963), Ben Crenshaw (1972), Gary Koch (1973), Bob Tway (1978), Mark Brooks (1978) and other professional tour notables. In 1987 the championship was changed to a mid- amateur age requirement, and a senior division was also added. Starting in 2010, the Trans- Mississippi Championship, returned to its roots as an open amateur tournament, and immediately established itself as a "must-play" among top collegiate and mid-am players, while changing to a 72-hole stroke play format. The field size starrts at 144 players from Trans- Mississippi Golf Association member clubs (or players receiving a special invitation from the Championship Committee). After 36 holes, a cut is made to the low 54 and ties who play the final two rounds.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube