Carolyn Creekmore rallies to win the Texas Women's Senior Stroke Play
Carolyn Creekmore <br>(TXGA Photo)
Carolyn Creekmore
(TXGA Photo)
AMARILLO, TX (October 4, 2016) -- Carolyn Creekmore from Dallas came from two strokes behind to claim the 2016 Texas Women’s Senior Stroke Play Championship. With three holes to play, Creekmore and 36-hole leader Anna Schultz were separated by a single stroke, but Schultz found the deep rough on the 16th hole. Creekmore hit her approach shots close on the final two holes to close out the Championship with two stress free pars. Lubbock’s Marian Barker posted the lowest round of the day, a one-over par 72, to move into third place.

In the Second Flight, Jacque Cooper fired a 76 to claim first place. After a first round 95, Cooper improved her score by nine strokes each of the final two days to win the flight in convincing fashion. Amarillo’s own Rita Sharp finished second, followed by Houston’s Debbie Clemens and Waco’s Nannette Wheelis. Gruver’s Ginny Grotegut won the third flight with a final round 86. Ruth Austin (San Antonio) claimed second place, followed by Carlene Lennard (Amarillo) in third and Dede Conner (Georgetown) in fourth.

Jewel Malick won the Super Senior Division (65-70) finishing with a strong final round of 75. Louise Davis claimed the Super Super Senior Division (71 and over) with a three day total of 256.

View results for Texas Women's Senior Stroke Play Golf Championship

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011