Women's Western Amateur: Abbey Carlson is medalist
Vanderbilt commit Abbey Carlson <br>(FSGA Photo)</br>
Vanderbilt commit Abbey Carlson
(FSGA Photo)

DAYTON, OH (June 21, 2016) -- Vanderbilt commit Abbey Carlson has won medalist honors at the Women's Western Amateur. Playing at Dayton Country Club, Carlson posted rounds of 70-69--139 to finish in front of three players tied at 140.

Carlson, from Lake Mary, FL is one of the top ranked junior golfers in the class of 2016 and she is also a two-time AJGA Rolex All-American.

Sierra Sims (Wake Forest), Lexie Toth (Rollins College) and Cecily Overbey (NC State) all finished at 140 and in second place. Sims shot rounds of 71-69, Toth went 68-72 while Overbey fired 71-69.

On Wednesday the Women's Western Amateur will turn to match play but before bracket madness begins 11 players will contend in a playoff for eight spots. The group has a 36-hole total of 152.

Results For Women's Western Amateur Championship
WinOHJillian HollisRocky River, OH1200
Runner-upPhilippinesMikhaela FortunaPhilippines900
SemifinalsTNSophia SchubertOak Ridge, TN700
SemifinalsCTKelly WhaleyFarmington, CT700
QuarterfinalsKYLydia GummRadcliff, KY500

View full results for Women's Western Amateur Championship

ABOUT THE Women's Western Amateur

Field: Limited to the low 144 players. Foreign entries are welcome. Format: Match Play. Tournament played at scratch. 36-hole stroke-play qualifying round. Low 64 qualifiers shall constitute the Championship flight with the final round being 36 holes. All other players will qualify into flights of 16 with the final round being 18 holes. No consolation. Entry Requirements: Entries are open to amateur golfers who (1) were females at birth, (2) have an 18-hole USGA Handicap Index of 10.4 or less, (3) are members of a golf club or golf organization/association that is a current member of the WWGA. Caddies: All players shall walk. A player may provide her own caddie, carry her bag or employ a club caddie, if available. A player may caddie for another player. Awards: W. A. Alexander Cup – Champion; ‘Babe’ Didrikson Zaharias Memorial Trophy – Finalist; Margaret Lenz Trophy – Medalist; Augustus Maschmeyer Cup – four players from the same state; Derby Cup – two players from the same club.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube