Onto Quarterfinals at Carolina Four-Ball
The field is down to eight teams at the Carolina Four-Ball <br>(Carolina Golf Association)</br>
The field is down to eight teams at the Carolina Four-Ball
(Carolina Golf Association)

CAMDEN, SC (May 6, 2016) - Stroke play qualifying medalists Zachary Bishop of Travelers Rest, SC – Matt Carter of Easley, SC could not advance out of the round of 32 as they were defeated by Mark Hodges of Belmont, NC – Andrew Smith of Charlotte, NC by the result of 1 up. Bishop-Carter found themselves three- down at the turn, but won holes 10, 11 and 12 to square the match. The last team into match play, Hodges-Smith, took back the lead on hole 16 thanks to an ace from Hodges. After back to back halves, Smith- Hodges advanced. After advancing to the round of 16, Hodges-Smith were matched against the father-son duo of Walter Todd – Neal Todd both of Laurens, SC. The Todd’s came back from three-down with four to play to defeat the Hodges-Smith, after birdieing 15, 17 and 18. The Todd’s earned their only lead of the round of 16 match on the 22rd hole.

The match of the day pitted 2013 champions Paul Tucker of Waxhaw, NC – Brent Roof of Columbia, SC of Charlotte, N.C. versus Michael Thigpen of Florence, SC – Gregg Jones of Florence, SC in the Round of 16. It took 19 holes and 5 birdies over the last 5 holes to end the match. Tucker – Roof birdied holes 15 & 16 to take a 2- up lead, but Thigpen – Jones birdied holes 17, 18 & 19 to win the match. Tucker – Roof shot 5-under over 19 holes and Thigpen – Jones shot 6-under to win the match.

The quarterfinal matches are set to begin at 8:00am at Camden Country Club on Saturday morning.

ABOUT THE Carolinas Four-Ball

The Four-Ball Championship of the Carolinas is a perennial favorite with the Carolina's best amateur golfers. Two rounds of Four-Ball stroke play format (one best ball of the two) determine the 32 teams to advance to match play. Entry is open to any male amateur golfer who is a legal resident of one of the Carolinas, is a member in good standing of a club which is a member of the Carolinas Golf Association (CGA) and has a current (within 90 days of opening date) USGA handicap index at a CGA member club. The championship team receives merchandise, trophies and names inscribed on the Hale Van Hoy Trophy. Stroke play qualifying medalists’ names will be inscribed on the Joe B. McCarley Cup. Additional prizes are awarded to all match play contestants.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube