Jon Rahm named 2015 Ben Hogan Award recipient
18 May 2015
by AmateurGolf.com Staff

see also: Jon Rahm Rankings

2015 Ben Hogan Award winner Jon Rahm
2015 Ben Hogan Award winner Jon Rahm

FORT WORTH, Texas — Spaniard Jon Rahm, of ASU was announced as the 2015 Ben Hogan Award winner at a press conference held at Colonial Country Club in Fort Worth, Texas on Monday. The award has been given annually since 1990 to the the outstanding male amateur and collegiate golfer of the year.

With the title, Rahm receives an invitation to next year's Crowne Plaza Invtiational at Colonial Country Club in the 2016 PGA Tour season. Last year's winner, former Stanford star Patrick Rodgers, is in the field in this week's event, one week after tying for second at the Wells Fargo Championship while playing on a sponsor's exemption.

Rahm has been on a roll this season, and indeed throughout his college and amateur career. A highlight of 2015 was his T5 finish on the PGA Tour at the Phoenix Open. And as recently as Saturday, he paced his ASU team to a second place finish at the NCAA Southwest Regional, where he was the low individual player at 10-under.

Rahm cited the late Severiano Ballesteros as his idol during an interview before the award was announced. And a portion of his acceptance speech was given in Spanish, so his parents at home could understand. Clearly, Rahm is a young man with a bright future, and if his acceptance speech was any indication of his ability to handle the limelight, fans are really going to connect with him.

Former winners currently on the PGA Tour include Hunter Mahan (2003), Ricky Barnes (2003), Bill Haas (2004), Ryan Moore (2005), Matt Every (2006), Chris Kirk (2007), Rickie Fowler (2008), and Kyle Stanley (2009).

Jon Rahm, winner of the NCAA SW Regional on May 16, tees off in the final round at The Farms Golf Club in San Diego


Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube