Bennett wins Wichita Amateur in playoff
WICHITA, KS (August 18, 2014) — The 2014 Wichita Amateur was not only filled with impressive amateur talent, but also dominated by the Wichita State University men's golf team.

Winning the championship on the first playoff hole was Wichita State sophomore Grant Bennett of Prosper, Texas. The 2013-2014 Missouri Valley Conference "Newcomer of the Year" carded rounds of 65 and 67 to send him into a sudden death playoff with Wichita native Dal Peterson, who shot back-to-back 66s.

Bennett earned All-State honors all four years at Prosper High School, taking his team to the state championship in 2011.

Finishing in third place just one stroke back was Shockers incoming freshman Erik Angesten. The Swedish-born player shot the low round of the tournament, a 64, on Sunday to catapult into the top-three.

Another Wichita State freshman, Gage Ihrig, finished in a tie for fifth place after shooting 70-66. Redshirt freshman Conrad Walcher tied for seventh with consecutive rounds of 69.

ABOUT THE Wichita City

36-hole flighted stroke play tournament, with the number of players in each flight determined by the number of entries.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube