Southern Amateur: Murray opens up lead with 66
Grayson Murray
Grayson Murray

by Jack Persons, AmateurGolf.com

OOLTEWAH, Tenn. (July 16, 2014) –- Grayson Murray leads the Southern Amateur by two strokes after Wednesday’s first round.

Murray, who recently transferred to Arizona State, shot a blistering six-under 66 at The Honors Course.

His front nine was inconsistent—if that can be said about a two-under front nine— as he made four birdies and two bogeys on his way to a 34. He made four pars in a row on the back, then caught fire, as he made four straight birdies and a closing par to fire four-under 32 and six-under 66.

Trevor Cone and Geoff Drakeford are close behind, as both shot four-under 68 to tie for second after the first round.

Cone’s round included six birdies and two bogeys, while Drakeford notched eight birdies along with four bogeys. Drakeford’s round included quite the hot stretch, as he birdied six out of eight holes in the middle of his round.

Reigning champion Zach Olsen started his title defense poorly, as he shot four-over 76. He is tied for 74th.

Other notables include two-time U.S. Open contestant Beau Hossler and Northeast Amateur champion Stewart Jolly, who are tied for seventh at two-under 70.

The notoriously difficult Honors Course played up to many players’ expectations on Wednesday, as the field averaged 76.74 strokes on the par-72, 7155-yard layout.

A cut will be made following Thursday’s second round, with the low 66 players and ties moving on to third and fourth round play. Currently, 73 players are at three-over or better.

Three more rounds remain to determine the Southern Amateur champion—who will receive an exemption into the 2015 Arnold Palmer Invitational at Bay Hill. AmateurGolf.com will provide full coverage the rest of the way. For results, follow the link below.

Results For Southern Amateur Golf Championship
1FLM.J. MaguireSt. Petersburg, FL100069-72-72-71=284
T2FranceVictor PerezFrance70072-70-71-74=287
T2AustraliaGeoffrey DrakefordAustralia70068-74-70-75=287
T4CABeau HosslerMission Viejo, CA50070-68-70-80=288
T4ZimbabweScott VincentZimbabwe50072-72-74-70=288

View full results for Southern Amateur Golf Championship

ABOUT THE Southern Amateur

The Southern Amateur, which dates back to 1902, is one of two competitions held by the Southern Golf Association. (The other is the Southern Junior.) Its champions roster is like a who’s who’s of competitive golf. (And the same could be said of the standing of its host clubs.) Leading this group is Robert T. (Bobby) Jones, Jr., who was the Southern Amateur Champion in 1917, 1920, and 1922. Others who have won or finished in a challenging position and gone on to national and/or international prominence include Tommy Barnes, Dale Morey, Don January, Gay Brewer, Doug Sanders, Billy Joe Patton, Lew Oehmig, Hubert Green, Downing Gray, Marvin (Vinny) Giles, Lanny Wadkins, Steve Melnyk, Tom Kite, John Mahaffey, Ben Crenshaw, Gary Koch, Bill Rogers, Gil Morgan, Danny Edwards, Andy Bean, Vance Haefner, Jerry Pate, Chip Beck, David Edwards, Jay Sigel, Bob Tway, Mark Brooks, Gene Sauers, Davis Love, Justin Leonard and more recently PGA Tour standouts Webb Simpson and Kyle Stanley, who won twice each between 2005 and 2008 in alternate years.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube