New Year's Invitational Golf Tournament
January 05 - 08 2017
Saint Petersburg, FL



St. Petersburg Country Club
2000 Country Club Way S
Saint Petersburg, FL  33712-4109
phone: (727) 867-2111
url: www.stpetecc.com

Tournament Overview

Historic invitational golf tournament that originated on the Lakewood golf course in 1927. This same amateur invitational tournament -- which attracts top Florida amateurs and a strong group of out-of- state players as well -- continues, unbroken, each year although the club name was later changed to St. Petersburg Country Club.

Login To See More

AmateurGolf.com members see additional tournament information including news, past scoring, tournament registrations, and more. Login or signup to take advantage of all the information available for this tournament.

Jan 08, 2017Hayden Buckley Claims the New Year's Invitational
Jan 07, 2017Hayden Buckley takes over New Year's Invitational lead
Jan 06, 2017Peyton Wilhoit Extends New Year's Invitational Lead
Jan 05, 2017Jimmy Jones returns to defend New Year's Invitational title
Jan 10, 2016Jimmy Jones wins New Year's Invitational
Jan 09, 2016Round Three Suspended at New Year's Invitational
Jan 08, 2016New Year's Invitational: Jimmy Jones fires 66 to grab 36-hole lead
Jan 11, 2015Sam Horsfield chips in on 18th hole to repeat at New Year's Invitational
Jan 10, 2015Three share New Year's Invitational lead entering final round
Jan 09, 2015New Year's Invitational: Chris Selfridge holds slim lead
Jan 08, 2015Kyle Weldon opens New Year's Invitational with one-shot lead
Jan 07, 2015New Year's Invitational begins Thursday in St. Petersburg
Jan 12, 2014Sam Horsfield wins New Year's Invitational
Jan 11, 2014Sam Horsfield holds New Year's lead
Jan 10, 2014New Year's Invitational: Sam Horsfield jumps to lead
Jan 09, 2014Morris leads New Years Invitational
Jan 03, 2014New Year's Invitational kicks off major schedule
Jan 06, 2013Toni Hakula captures New Year's Invitational
Jan 05, 2013New Year's Invitational: Toni Hakula maintains lead
Jan 04, 2013New Year's Invitational: Toni Hakula takes lead
Jan 03, 2013New Year's Inv.: Bozelli, Liu head field
Jan 03, 2013McCoy, Morris tied for New Years Invitational lead
Jan 08, 2012New Year's Invitational: Garland Green wins in playoff
Jan 07, 2012New Year's Invitational: Stephan Jaegar leads after Round 3
Jan 06, 2012New Year's Invitational: Stephan Jaegar leads by four
Jan 05, 2012New Year's Invitational: Ben Klaus, Tee Wan Lee tied for lead
Jan 09, 2011Hagy Posts Win at New Year's Invitational
Jan 08, 2011New Year's Invitational- Hagy leads by four
Jan 07, 2011Hagy takes lead at New Year's Invite
Jan 07, 2011Caught on Film! Nonchalant Ace Reaction
Jan 11, 2010Tommy Mou Takes the New Year’s Invitational in a Playoff
Jan 10, 2009New Year's Invitational: Uihlein pulls out victory
Jan 08, 2009New Year's Invitational: McKenney leads early
Jan 06, 2008New Year's Invitational: Ledford by a stroke
Jan 05, 2008New Year's Invitational: Round 3 Results from Florida
Jan 04, 2008New Year's Invitational: Second Round Results
Jan 03, 2008New Year's Invitational: First Round Results
Jan 07, 2007New Year's Invitational: Major Manning holds off challenge from Alan Bratton's final round 67
Jan 05, 2007New Year's Invitational: Junior standout Peter Uihlein leads
Jan 04, 2007New Year's Invitational: UT's Jonathan Mount holds lead
Jan 08, 2006New Year's Invitational: Luke List Wins by 2
Jan 09, 2005Overton Charges to Win New Year's Invitational

Results Archive:

Showing results for

Place  PtsScores
1MSHayden BuckleyBelden, MS70068-69-71-74=282
2ARPeyton WilhoitSearcy, AR40065-68-76-75=284
T3TNChip ThomasKnoxville, TN25068-67-77-74=286
T3NJHarrison ShihSaddle River, NJ25066-73-70-77=286
5PhilippinesLloyd Jefferson GoPhilippines25071-72-73-71=287
T6TNJames BecknerKingsport, TN15072-71-73-72=288
T6FLJoseph PagdinOrlando, FL15068-69-74-77=288
T8KYDrake DuncanBowling Green, KY15070-70-77-72=289
T8SCTrace CroweBluffton, SC15073-71-72-73=289
10FLJake KevorkianClearwater, FL15071-68-77-74=290
T11NYDarin GoldsteinSag Harbor, NY10071-75-74-71=291
T11PhilippinesGen NagaiPhilippines10070-69-79-73=291
T11FLCorey CarlsonGreen Cove Springs, FL10072-74-70-75=291
T11OHRyan WenzlerDayton, OH10071-68-76-76=291
T15FLGreyson PorterClearwater, FL10068-77-75-72=292
T15FLSean ButscherTallahassee, FL10074-72-73-73=292
T17FLJoe AlfieriTampa, FL7576-71-74-72=293
T17FLBrock DrogoshWindermere, FL7574-70-75-74=293
T17FLMichael MattiaceJacksonville, FL7572-68-77-76=293
20CABen DoyleLa Jolla, CA7571-71-74-78=294

Results for this tournament are available for download. Click here to view results.

The New Year's Invitational, played at St. Petersburg Country Club in Florida, has been held every year since 1927. It is the oldest continuously-running invitational tournament in the Southeast and one of the oldest in the country. Originally it was one of a number of tournaments held in the winter months at clubs around the area. The other events, in fact several of the other clubs, are long departed.

The tournament was a match play event from its inception until 1956. The first winner was Clearwater resident A.T. Cooper. The 1928 winner, Johnny Revolta, was a combination course ranger - locker room attendant at Lakwood Country Club at the time he won. Later, Revolta became a very successful professional, winning the PGA Championship in 1935 and establishing quite a reputation as as short game instructor. In 1938 he celebrated his return to St. Petersburg and Lakewood with a win at the St. Pete Open, a regular stop on the fledgling PGA tour.

Bob Goalby was the first winner after the change to stroke play. He went on to a lengthy PGA career which included a 1968 Masters green jacket. Between 1972 and 1991, Buddy Alexander, son of our longtime pro Skip Alexander, won 6 titles, the most wins for any player since the World War II era.

During the past two decades the championship has been dominated by collegiate players including winner Ryuji Imada in 1996, Jeff Klauk in 2000 (with a tournament record 21- under par 267), J.B. Holmes in 2003, Brandt Snedeker in 2004 and Jeff Overton in 2005. This year's field shows considerable promise with entrants from around the U.S. as well as Canada, Germany, Finland, the UK, Colombia, Japan, and China. 2008 winner, Bryce Ledford, will not be back as he is pursuing a professional career.

Welcome to the online registration system, powered by AmateurGolf.com. Please enter your access code below. If you do not have an access code, please visit the to request an invitation.

Access Code:

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011