U.S. Men's State Team Championship
September 28 - 30 2016
Birmingham, AL



Country Club of Birmingham - West Course
3325 Country Club Rd
Birmingham, AL  31577
phone: (205) 803-4225
url: www.ccbham.org

Tournament Overview

The USGA State Team Championships grew out of the Association's Centennial Celebration in 1995, and have been held on an every-other- year basis since. 52 men’s teams (including teams from Puerto Rico and the District of Columbia) compete for the trophy named in honor of former USGA President James Hand. Fifty women’s teams compete for the trophy named for past USGA President Judy Bell.

State golf associations select three of their top non-college amateurs to represent them in this biennial team championship. The top two scores of the three players count toward the team total for each of the three days.

Login To See More

AmateurGolf.com members see additional tournament information including news, past scoring, tournament registrations, and more. Login or signup to take advantage of all the information available for this tournament.

Sep 30, 2016Michigan captures their first USGA State Team Championship
Sep 29, 2016Nathan Smith played with Arnold Palmer during his final Masters Round
Sep 29, 2016Connecticut leads USGA State Team after 36-holes
Sep 28, 201652 Teams will compete for the USGA Men's State Team Championship
Sep 28, 2016Four teams share USGA State Team First Round Lead
Sep 21, 2016Thomas Hutchison will be part of Team California at upcoming USGA Men's State Team Championship
Oct 06, 2014Jason Anthony ties for fourth at USGA State Team
Oct 02, 2014Texas wins record fourth USGA State Team
Oct 01, 2014This is familiar: Texas takes 36-hole lead at USGA State Team
Sep 30, 2014Iowa leads after day one at USGA Men's State Team
Aug 22, 2014Florida announces USGA State Team picks
Sep 24, 2012New York wins USGA State Team
Sep 20, 2012State Team: Keith Decker plays in record 10th event
Sep 20, 2012New York takes USGA State Team lead
Sep 19, 2012California, Iowa lead early at USGA Men's State Team
Sep 19, 2012North Carolina leads Men's State Team
Sep 15, 2012USGA State Team tees off
Sep 17, 2010Kansas Wins USGA State Team
Sep 15, 2010Georgia and Kansas share 36-hole lead at USGA Men's Team Championship
Sep 14, 2010Kansas, Washington tied for lead at USGA Men's State Team
Sep 08, 2010Mayacama set to host USGA State Team
Sep 25, 2009Pennsylvania wins USGA State Team
Sep 24, 2009USGA State Team: Thursday Results
Sep 20, 2007USGA Men's State Team: Texas Wins Again
Nov 12, 2005Carlton Woods to Host the 2007 USGA State Team
Sep 29, 2005USGA Men's State Team: Some Good News for Texas

Results Archive:

Showing results for

Place  PtsScores
T1MITom WerkmeisterGrand Rapids, MI50071-70-67=208
T1DEJay WhitbyWyoming, DE50069-73-66=208
3INJustin TereshkoMadison, IN20071-68-70=209
4AZKen TanigawaPhoenix, AZ20071-70-69=210
5PAChris CrawfordBensalem, PA20069-70-74=213
T6FLJoe AlfieriTampa, FL15073-71-70=214
T6MIEvan BowserDearborn, MI15073-71-70=214
T6WAErik HansonKirkland, WA15074-68-72=214
T6TXJosh IrvingDallas, TX15068-75-71=214
T6INKenny CookNoblesville, IN15071-72-71=214
11AZCory BaconCave Creek, AZ10073-70-72=215
T12NCScott HarveyKernersville, NC10075-71-70=216
T12IDReid HatleyHayden Lake, ID10072-72-72=216
T14FLMarc DullWinter Haven, FL10071-75-71=217
T14CTGeoff VartelasCromwell, CT10068-70-79=217
T14MNTrent PetersonEagan, MN10072-68-77=217
T14KYAndy RobertsOwensboro, KY10074-71-72=217
T18MORichard Skip BerkmeyerWildwood, MO5069-75-74=218
T18WVSamuel O'DellHurricane, WV5072-73-73=218
T18NMMarty SanchezSante Fe, NM5072-74-72=218
T18NJMichael StambergerPlainfield, NJ5074-68-76=218

Results for this tournament are posted outside AmateurGolf.com. Click here to view results.

The USGA Men's State Team Championship, as well as the Women's State Team Championship, grew out of the Association's Centennial celebration in 1995. It was believed that a new championship, one in which each state could be represented by non-college, amateur golfers, was a good way to cap the USGA's year-long birthday celebration. In enthusiasm and fine golf, the State Team Championship proved such a success that it has been instituted to return every two years.

The championship was fashioned after the biennial World Amateur Team Championships. Each state is invited to send three players; 46 states and Puerto Rico responded and sent teams to compete at Lake Nona Golf Club in Orlando, Fla., in 1995, and 50 states and Puerto Rico sent teams to compete at SunRidge Canyon Golf Club in Fountain Hills, Ariz., in 1997.

State associations were given the option to choose their teams by any method. College players, however, were ineligible due to NCAA bylaws. Under current NCAA rules, a player may only participate in an international team match when that team is sponsored by the national governing body, such as in the Walker Cup Match.

Otherwise, the player is faced with being declared ineligible for the remainder of the season of the infraction, as well as the following season.

Some states chose their players on a point system. Some selected the top finishers from their state championships or conducted qualifying tournaments. Virginia and a few other states empanelled selection committees that sifted through the year's results.

The first State Championship, conducted October 25-28, 1995, gave a decided advantage to southern teams as it came beyond the competitive season for many states. The South Dakota team, for example, had left home with six inches of snow on the ground, and the Alaskans hadn't played since mid-September.

Based on the World Amateur Team format, in which each team fields four players, with only the best three scores counted each of three rounds, Virginia prevailed in the inaugural. Minnesota, with nationally decorated amateur John Harris leading the way, won the 1997 event with a cumulative score of 416, 10 under par.

No individual prizes are awarded, but it is important that many of the best amateurs in the country have supported these early Championships. In 1997, four members of that year's U.S. Walker Cup team played, including Harris.

Jerry Courville Jr. of Milford, Conn., has played in both 1995 and 1997, setting an unofficial USGA record by making the State Championship his fifth USGA competition. He also had competed in the Open, Amateur, Mid-Amateur, which he won, and the Walker Cup Match.

Players of all ages have shown their interest. Bob Hullender of San Antonio was a member of the 1997 Texas team, at age 60. And several players have been high school students.

Welcome to the online registration system, powered by AmateurGolf.com. Please enter your access code below. If you do not have an access code, please visit the to request an invitation.

Access Code:

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011