Medalist McCoy advances at Crump Cup
- file photo
- file photo

PINE VALLEY, NJ (Oct. 1, 2011) – Tournament medalist Michael McCoy of West Des Moines, IA advanced to Sunday morning’s semi-final round. The four time Crump Cup champion will face Stephen Summers of Dallas, TX. Brian Komline of Bridgewater, NJ also advanced to the semi-final round against Kelly Miller of Southern Pines, NC.

Sunday morning’s semi-final matches in the senior division will feature senior medalist Alan Fadel of Toledo, OH against George Zahringer, III of New York City. 2011 Walker Cup Captain James Holtgrieve of St. Louis, MO takes on 2009 Senior Crump Champion Pat Tallent of Vienna, VA in the other semi-final match.

The public is invited to view the championship match Sunday afternoon. Parking and shuttle service will be available at the Clementon Lake Amusement Park (144 Berlin Road, Clementon, NJ 08021).

Results: Crump Cup
WinTXStephen SummersDallas, TX400
Runner-upNCKelly MillerSouthern Pines, NC300
SemifinalsIAMike McCoyW. Des Moines, IA200
SemifinalsNJBrian KomlineBridgewater, NJ200
QuarterfinalsIAGene ElliottW. Des Moines, IA100

View full results for Crump Cup


The George A. Crump Memorial Tournament -- named for the hotelier and course architect most famous for building Pine Valley -- is arguably the premier mid- amateur event in the United States. The invitational field is made of of top players from around the United States and the UK. The format for the four days is two rounds of stroke play qualifying, followed by four rounds of match play. Players are flighted according to their qualifying position, and a separate Senior flight includes three of those flights. Jay Sigel has won the event the most times, with nine victories between 1975 and 1993.

Normally, the public is invited to attend the Sunday final matches but that tradition has been suspended.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92009

Instagram X Facebook YouTube