Crump Cup: McCoy, Giles win titles
- file photo
- file photo

PINE VALLEY, NJ (September 12, 2010) – Michael McCoy of West Des Moines, IA won the 86th Annual Crump Memorial Tournament at Pine Valley Golf Club. The victory is McCoy’s fourth in the prestigious invitational event. He defeated Scott Rowe of Hinsdale, IL 2 & 1 the final. McCoy defeated Kevin Marsh of Henderson, NV in 22 holes in his semi-final match. Rowe defeated 2008 tournament champion Michael Muehr of Potomac Falls, VA 1-up in the semi-finals.

Vinny Giles of Richmond, VA won his 4 th Senior title by defeating Jeff Burda of Modesto, CA 1 up.


* Walker Cup experience -- The featured Senior match of Sunday morning saw 1993 Walker Cup captain Vinny Giles of Richmond, Virginia defeat 2011 Walker Cup Captain James Holtgrieve of St. Louis, 4 and 3.

* Local Knowledge -- Pine Valley Golf Club President O. Gordon Brewer, Jr. won the Third Flight in the Senior Division over Chick Wagner, 1-up.

* The most holes played -- Kevin Marsh, the 2005 USGA Mid-Am champion, played a total of 65 holes in three 18-hole matches. He took 20 holes to edge one of Texas' top players, Rob Couture, then played a 23 hole marathon against Michael Barbosa before losing to McCoy on the 22nd hole of the semi-finals.

A link to results from all flights is listed below. Please scroll down the multi-page pdf document to view all flights; you may also wish to print it.

Results: Crump Cup
WinIAMike McCoyW. Des Moines, IA400
Runner-upILScott RoweHinsdale, IL300
SemifinalsVAMichael MuehrMcLean, VA200
SemifinalsNVKevin MarshHenderson, NV200
QuarterfinalsNJWilliam McGuinnessHaddonfield, NJ100

View full results for Crump Cup


The George A. Crump Memorial Tournament -- named for the hotelier and course architect most famous for building Pine Valley -- is arguably the premier mid- amateur event in the United States. The invitational field is made of of top players from around the United States and the UK. The format for the four days is two rounds of stroke play qualifying, followed by four rounds of match play. Players are flighted according to their qualifying position, and a separate Senior flight includes three of those flights. Jay Sigel has won the event the most times, with nine victories between 1975 and 1993.

Normally, the public is invited to attend the Sunday final matches but that tradition has been suspended.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92009

Instagram X Facebook YouTube